Skip to main content Skip to footer
MBB to Participate in 2013 EA SPORTS Maui Invitational

Baylor will play in the 2013 EA SPORTS Maui Invitational.

March 6, 2012

EA SPORTS Maui Invitational

MAUI, Hawai`i - 11th-ranked Baylor is one of eight teams that will compete in the 2013 EA SPORTSTM Maui Invitational® hosted by Chaminade University at Maui's famed Lahaina Civic Center.

Baylor joins Arkansas, Cal, Dayton, Gonzaga, Minnesota, Syracuse and host Chaminade as the schedule teams for the 30th edition of the nation's premier early-season college basketball tournament. As of March 5,'s Joe Lunardi has four teams in the 2013 field making the 2012 NCAA Division I Men's Basketball Championship - Syracuse (No. 1 seed), Baylor (No. 3 seed), Gonzaga (No. 6 seed) and Cal (No. 10 seed).

"The 2013 field represents the EA SPORTS Maui Invitational's long-standing commitment to bringing the top teams in the nation to the island of Maui," Tournament Chairman David Odom said. "With some of the country's top basketball programs and great coaching minds paired with devoted fan bases traveling to Maui in 2013, we are excited for another fun-filled and competitive week of Basketball in Paradise."

Baylor will be making its first trip to the island of Maui since 1987, when it finished sixth with a 1-2 record in Maui Classic. The 2013 field also features three previous Maui champions - Syracuse (1990, 1998), Dayton (2003) and Gonzaga (2009).

The 29th annual EA SPORTS Maui Invitational will launch the college basketball season Nov. 19-21, 2012, with an eight-team field that includes Butler, Illinois, Marquette, Mississippi State, North Carolina, Texas, USC and Chaminade. In all, 93 schools representing 23 conferences and 29 states have competed in the EA SPORTS Maui Invitational, with Maui participants having won an astounding 62 of 73 NCAA championships and 58 of 73 national runner-up spots while comprising 239 of 292 Final Four teams.

Follow the Official Twitter feed of Baylor Basketball, @BaylorMBB.

• 2005: Sixth place (1-2 record)
• 1991: Second place (2-1 record, faced Minnesota in first round and won 92-83)

• 1987: Sixth place (1-2)

• 1996: Third place (2-1)

• Participated in each EA SPORTS Maui Invitational since 1984
• 6-73 overall record (most recently beat Oklahoma in 2010 seventh place game)

• 2003: Champions (3-0, MVP Keith Waleskowski)
• 2000: Third place (2-1)

• 2009: Champions (3-0, Co-MVPs Matt Bouldin and Steven Gray)
• 2005: Second Place (2-1, MVP Adam Morrison)
• 2002: Fourth Place (1-2)

• 1991: Fifth Place (2-1, faced Arkansas in first round and lost 92-83)

• 1998: Champions (3-0, MVP Jason Hart)
• 1990: Champions (3-0, MVP Billy Owens)



Online Store