Skip to main content Skip to footer
Baylor MBB Receives No. 2 Seed in NIT

Baylor is making its fifth postseason appearance in the last six years.

March 17, 2013

2013 NIT Bracket Get Acrobat Reader | Head Coach Scott Drew Quotes

WACO, Texas - Baylor men's basketball has received a No. 2 seed in the 2013 National Invitational Tournament. The Bears will host No. 7 seed Long Beach State at 8 p.m. CT Wednesday at the Ferrell Center on ESPN2.

With a win against Long Beach State, Baylor would advance to face the winner of No. 3 Arizona State vs. No. 6 Detroit. Second-round games are scheduled for Thursday through Monday, but the Bears can only host a second-round game on Friday due to the women's basketball team hosting first and second rounds of the NCAA Championship, March 24 and 26. Baylor would have to play on the road if the game is scheduled for Saturday, Sunday or Monday.

Baylor will be making back-to-back postseason appearances for the fourth time in program history. BU played in the 1987 NIT and 1988 NCAA Tournament, and the Bears had three consecutive postseason appearances with the 2008 and 2010 NCAA Tournaments and the 2009 NIT.

The Bears will be making their fifth NIT appearance. Baylor lost in the first round in 1987, 1990 and 2001, but they won four consecutive games to advance to the 2009 NIT Championship Game at Madison Square Garden. That postseason experience helped the Bears reach the NCAA Elite Eight the following season. The Bears are 4-4 all-time in the NIT, including a 4-1 record in the Drew era.

Baylor is hosting a NIT game for only the second time. BU hosted Georgetown in 2009 first round, winning 74-72 to advance to take on Virginia Tech in Blacksburg, Va. The Bears then beat Auburn on the Tigers' home floor to punch their ticket to New York.

The Bears are 2-2 all-time against Long Beach State, but the teams haven't met on the hardwood since Baylor beat LBSU 87-80 on Dec. 22, 1979, in Lafayette, La.

All tickets for NIT games at the Ferrell Center are $12 each. BU season ticket holders may claim their seats for any NIT games in the Ferrell Center by logging onto Tickets may be reserved online now, and season ticket holders are required to use the complimentary print-at-home delivery method. Season ticket holders who do not have access to e-mail or the internet may order tickets by calling the Athletic Ticket Office to reserve their seats which will be available for pick-up at will-call beginning Monday at 8:30 a.m. CT.

Season ticket holders must reserve their tickets to the NIT first-round game against Long Beach State by 2 p.m., Monday. Due to the tight turnaround to secure your season ticket location, you must purchase round one NIT tickets in order to ensure your season ticket location is held for future rounds. In the event that Baylor advances and hosts again, you may then go online and follow the same procedures. If a season ticket holder does not purchase round one tickets, and wishes to purchase a later round, they will have to wait until tickets go on sale to the general public.

Season tickets not reserved by the Monday 2 p.m. deadline will be made available for sale to the general public. In an effort to increase efficiencies for everyone, all Baylor season ticket holders will have the option to receive their NIT tickets via e-mail through the print-at-home delivery method at no cost; if Will Call delivery is selected, a $15 processing fee will apply.

Baylor students can pick up complimentary tickets starting when the arena doors open 90 minutes prior to game time.

First Round Game (Ferrell Center)
Baylor vs. Long Beach State, 8 p.m. CT, ESPN2

Second Round Games (Campus Sites)
Thursday, March 21
Friday, March 22
Saturday, March 23
Sunday, March 24
Monday, March 25

Quarterfinals (Campus Sites)
Tuesday, March 26
Wednesday, March 27

Semifinals/Championship (Madison Square Garden - New York)
Tuesday, April 2
Thursday, April 4

1987 - UALR 42, Baylor 41 (Little Rock, Ark.)
1990 - Mississippi State 84, Baylor 75 (Starkville, Miss.)
2001 - New Mexico 83, Baylor 73 (Albuquerque, N.M.)
2009 - Baylor 74, Georgetown 72 (Waco, Texas)
2009 - Baylor 84, Virginia Tech 66 (Blacksburg, Va.)
2009 - Baylor 74, Auburn 72 (Auburn, Ala.)
2009 - Baylor 76, San Diego State 62 (New York)
2009 - Penn State 69, Baylor 63 (New York)



Online Store