Go Bears!
GO Bears!
Go Bears!
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
Men's Hoops Annual Banquet May 7

Curtis Jerrells will be one of four seniors honored at Baylor's annual men's basketball banquet May 7.

Curtis Jerrells will be one of four seniors honored at Baylor's annual men's basketball banquet May 7.

April 17, 2009

WACO, Texas – After posting the second-most wins in school history and advancing to the NIT championship game, the Baylor men’s basketball team will hold its annual banquet Thursday, May 7. The banquet will begin at 7 p.m. on the fifth floor of the Cashion Academic Center on the Baylor campus.

Cost for the event is $30 for individuals, $400 for a select table and $500 for a premium table. Fans interested in attending the banquet must RSVP by May 4 – no walk-ups will be accepted. You may RSVP online or call toll-free at (866) 281-9444.

Head coach Scott Drew will address those in attendance and the Bears will hand out postseason awards. Baylor will also honor graduating seniors Mamadou Diene, Henry Dugat, Curtis Jerrells and Kevin Rogers.

Baylor, which finished the season 24-15, set numerous program firsts and broke several school records. The Bears advanced to the Big 12 Championship title game, NIT Final Four and NIT championship game for the first time in program history, while falling one win shy of tying the school single-season record. During the regular season, Baylor was ranked in the AP Top 25 Poll for a school-record seven consecutive weeks.

Baylor broke several team records in 2008-09, including points (2,965), field goals made (1,024), field goals attempted (2,191), 3-point field goals made (320), 3-point field goals attempted (876), free throws made (597) and free throws attempted (838). In addition to playing a school-record 39 games in 2008-09, the Bears played a school-record 34 games on television, including 19 that were nationally televised (18 on the ESPN family of networks).

Sophomore LaceDarius Dunn set new single-season records for 3-point field goals made (109) and 3-point field goals attempted (281). Dunn tied the school’s single-game record with nine 3-point field goals made in a win at Kansas State on Jan. 21 and posted a streak of 28 consecutive games with at least one 3-pointer made – the second-longest streak in school history.

Dunn was an honorable mention All-Big 12 pick by the coaches and received the Big 12 Sixth Man Award. He also was named All-Reserve by the Big 12 media, All-Bench by The Oklahoman and the Best Sixth Man by the Waco Tribune-Herald. On March 31, he became the 23rd player in school history to 1,000 points, becoming only the second sophomore to do so in 104 seasons of Baylor basketball.

Jerrells finished his career as the all-time leader in minutes played, games started and games played at Baylor, while also setting new single-season marks for minutes played, games started and games played. Jerrells, a Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award finalist, was a third-team All-Big 12 selection by the coaches and the media. The Austin, Texas, native also garnered USBWA All-District VII and NABC All-District 8 second team honors. Jerrells was a Big 12 second team pick by the Waco Tribune-Herald and a third team selection by Rivals.com.

Both Dunn and Jerrells represented Baylor on the NIT All-Tournament team in New York City.

Rogers, an All-Big 12 honorable mention selection by the coaches, was Baylor’s lone representative on the Big 12 All-Tournament team, guiding the Bears to their first championship game appearance. Rogers was named All-Underrated by The Oklahoman and the Big 12 third team by Rivals.com.

Freshman Quincy Acy set a new Baylor and Big 12 Conference record with 20 consecutive field goals made, sinking his first 20 field goals to start his career from Nov. 15-24, 2008.



   Shop Now at the Official Online Store