Skip to main content Skip to footer
MBB Trio Named to NABC Honors Court

Brady Heslip played for Canada's national team in the World University Games.

July 17, 2013

KANSAS CITY, Mo. - Three Baylor men's basketball players were honored on Wednesday as members of the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) Honors Court, which recognizes student-athletes who excelled in academics during the 2012-13 season.

Brady Heslip, Logan Lowery and Jacob Neubert were chosen by the NABC. Baylor is one of five power-6 conference teams to have three or more players honored, joining Louisville, Northwestern, Stanford and Utah. The Bears' three selections accounted for nearly half of the seven total honorees from the Big 12 Conference.

Neubert is the first player in program history to repeat as a member of the NABC Honors Court. He was honored in 2011-12, becoming the second player in program history after Mark Shepherd in 2007-08.

A Waco, Texas-product, Neubert graduated in May after playing 18 games during his senior season with the Bears. He had 8 points, 8 rebounds, 2 assists, 2 steals and 1 block coming off the Baylor bench.

Lowery, a Kingwood, Texas, native, played 12 games in his first season of competition with the Bears. He transferred to Baylor from Centenary and sat out the 2011-12 season. As a redshirt sophomore in 2012-13, Lowery posted 10 points, 10 rebounds, 2 assists and 1 block in 40 total minutes of action.

Heslip started all but one of Baylor's 37 games and averaged 8.6 points while shooting 39 percent from 3-point range as a junior in 2012-13. A Burlington, Ontario, native, he helped Canada's national team to a fourth-place finish in the World University Games this summer, averaging a team-best 15.0 points per game.

More than 700 student-athletes from over 285 colleges and universities were named to the NABC Honors Court. The awards recognize the talents and gifts that these men possess off the court, and the hard work they exhibit in the classroom.

In order to be named to the Honors Court, student-athletes must be varsity players and at least in their junior years academically. They also must have cumulative GPAs of 3.2 or higher at the conclusion of the academic year, and they must be in at least their second year of academic residence at their current institution. All NCAA Division I, II and III teams, as well as NAIA members are eligible.

Heslip, Lowery and Neubert were joined by Tyler Neal (Oklahoma), Andrew Dick (Texas), Dejan Kravic (Texas Tech) and Kevin Noreen (West Virginia) in representing the Big 12 Conference.



Online Store