Skip to main content Skip to footer
MBB's Heslip and Lowery Earn NABC Honor

Brady Heslip led the Big 12 Conference in 3-point shooting in 2013-14.

July 24, 2014

KANSAS CITY, Mo. - Baylor men's basketball student-athletes Brady Heslip and Logan Lowery were honored as members of the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) Honors Court, which recognizes student-athletes who excelled in academics during the 2013-14 season.

Heslip and Lowery both earned the recognition for a second straight season, joining Jacob Neubert at the only repeat honorees in program history. Both Heslip and Lowery graduated in May, joining Cory Jefferson to complete the Bears' trio of 2013-14 graduating seniors.

A Burlington, Ontario, native, Heslip finished second on the team in scoring with 11.7 points per game and led the Big 12 Conference in 3-point shooting percentage at .465 in 2013-14. He broke Baylor's single-season record with 118 3-pointers made and finished with the best career 3-point percentage in school history at .437 (min. 200 attempts).

Lowery played in 13 games off the bench in 2013-14, averaging 0.9 points and 0.3 rebounds while converting on 5-of-7 field goal attempts. He played in 25 games over a two-year Baylor career, logging 22 points in 67 total minutes.

Nearly 900 student-athletes from over 335 colleges and universities were named to the 2013-14 NABC Honors Court. In order to be named to the Honors Court, student-athletes must be varsity players and at least in their junior years academically. They also must have cumulative GPAs of 3.2 or higher at the conclusion of the academic year, and they must be in at least their second year of academic residence at their current institution. All NCAA Division I, II and III teams, as well as NAIA members are eligible.

Heslip and Lowery were joined by Melvin Ejim (Iowa State), Tyler Ellerman (Iowa State), Christian Garrett (Kansas), Brian Rohleder (Kansas State), Tyler Neal (Oklahoma), Christien Sager (Oklahoma State), Mason Cox (Oklahoma State), Thomas Montigel (Texas Christian), Luke Adams (Texas Tech), Toddrick Gotcher (Texas Tech), Clark Senior (Texas Tech) and Kevin Noreen (West Virginia) in representing the Big 12 Conference.



Online Store