Skip to main content Skip to footer
MBB to Face Boston College in Charleston Classic

Baylor is coming off a school-record 30 wins and an Elite Eight Appearance in 2011-12.

July 26, 2012

2012 Charleston Classic complete bracket

CHARLESTON, S.C. – The bracket for the 2012 Charleston Classic was released on Thursday, revealing that Baylor will face Boston College in the tournament’s opening round on Nov. 15 at TD Arena.

Baylor’s game against BC is slated for 2 p.m. CT and will be televised live on ESPNU. The Bears will face either Colorado or Dayton on Nov. 16 at either 11:30 a.m. or 1:30 p.m., and that game will also be shown on ESPNU.

Baylor will play its third game in the tournament on Nov. 18 against one of four teams from the other side of the bracket: St. John’s, College of Charleston, Murray State and Auburn. Additionally, Baylor will host College of Charleston in Waco on Nov. 24 in a non-bracketed game.

If Baylor faces Colorado in its second game, the game would be a rematch of the 2012 NCAA Championship third round game that the Bears won 80-63 to advance to the Sweet 16. Baylor has never faced Dayton, Boston College or College of Charleston.

The Charleston Classic presented by Foster Grant features 12 games over three days in an eight-team tournament. Each team will play in one game per day, advancing through a bracket-tournament format.

All games of the Charleston Classic will be available on WatchESPN and ESPN3D. ESPN3 will have six exclusive games and ESPNU will air five games. The championship game will be played on Nov. 18 at 7:30 p.m. and will be televised on ESPN2.

Discounted hotel accommodations as well as game tickets are now available for fans traveling to Charleston. Visit or call 888-632-6951 to make reservations.

The Charleston Classic presented by Foster Grant is owned and operated by ESPN Regional Television (ERT), a subsidiary of ESPN. Northwestern won the 2011 tournament title. Previous winners include Clemson (2008), Miami (2009) and Georgetown (2010).

2012 Charleston Classic presented by Foster Grant (schedule subject to change)

Thurs., Nov. 15   11:30  a.m.   Dayton vs. Colorado ESPN3/ESPN3D
2 p.m. Baylor vs. Boston College ESPNU/ESPN3D
4 p.m. St. John's vs. College of Charleston   ESPNU/ESPN3D
7 p.m. Murray State vs. Auburn ESPN3/ESPN3D
Fri., Nov. 16 11:30 a.m. Semifinal #1 ESPNU/ESPN3D
1:30 p.m. Consolation #1 ESPNU/ESPN3D
4:30 p.m. Semifinal #2 ESPN3/ESPN3D  
6:30 p.m. Consolation #2 ESPN3/ESPN3D
Sun., Nov. 18 11 a.m. 7th-place Game ESPN3/ESPN3D
1 p.m. 5th-place Game ESPN3/ESPN3D
5 p.m. 3rd-place Game ESPNU/ESPN3D
7:30 p.m. Championship Game ESPN2/ESPN3D
Weds., Nov. 21 TBD Auburn at Boston College^ n/a
Sat., Nov. 24 TBD College of Charleston at Baylor^ n/a

^ - non-bracketed game



Online Store