Drew to Receive Don Nelson Award Tuesday

Sept. 2, 2008

DALLAS - Baylor head men's basketball coach Scott Drew will be presented The Don Nelson Award by the Dallas All Sports Association at the organization's annual awards banquet on Tuesday at the Dallas Fairmont Hotel.

The Don Nelson Award is presented to a college or professional basketball coach for great achievement both on and off the court of play in the spirit of NBA player and coach Don Nelson.

In addition to The Don Nelson Award, the Dallas All Sports Association will present 10 other awards, including The Lamar Hunt Award, The Field Scovell Award, The Legends Award, The Tom Landry Award, The Emmitt Smith Award, The Big D Award, The Courage Award, The Pat Summerall Award, The Motor Sports Award and the Big 12 Player of the Year Award. The DASA will also award college scholarships to 31 deserving individuals.

The Dallas All Sports Association is a philanthropic organization founded in 1965 by Dallas businessman Field Scovell whose love of sports was only exceeded by his love of the Dallas community. In founding DASA, Scovell envisioned a special organization, philanthropic in nature, created to award recognition and scholarship grants to deserving individuals and other deserving groups.



Online Store