Skip to main content Skip to footer
Jackson Named Big 12 Preseason Player of the Year

Pierre Jackson was named Big 12 Preseason Player of the Year.

Oct. 4, 2012

Complete Preseason All-Big 12 Release Get Acrobat Reader

IRVING, Texas - For the second consecutive season, a Baylor men's basketball player has been tabbed Big 12 Preseason Player of the Year. Pierre Jackson was selected as the 2012-13 honoree by the league's head coaches, the conference office announced Thursday.

Jackson follows former Baylor All-American Perry Jones III, who earned the honor prior to the 2011-12 season. Jackson was also named to the five-member 2012-13 Preseason All-Big 12 team, while Baylor freshman Isaiah Austin was one of six honorable mention selections.

A senior from Las Vegas, Nev., Jackson led Baylor with 13.8 points, 5.9 assists and 1.8 steals per game in his debut season in Waco last year. His 223 total assists were the second-highest single-season total in program history, and he posted double-figure points in 27 of 38 games, including an average of 17.6 points per game in the last eight contests.

Jackson earned second-team All-Big 12 honors and was named honorable mention All-American by the Associated Press. Among returning Big 12 players, Jackson ranks first with 1.8 steals per game, second with 5.9 assists per game and third with 13.8 points per game.

Jackson has also been named a preseason first-team All-American and first-team All-Big 12 by Athlon magazine. The same publication selected Austin to its All-Big 12 second team and junior Brady Heslip to the All-Big 12 third team.

Lindy's tabbed Jackson to its All-Big 12 first team, while Heslip and Austin garnered second and third-team honors, respectively. The Bears' backcourt, led by Heslip and Jackson, was picked as the nation's sixth-best by Lindy's.

Baylor hosts Moonlight Madness at 8:30 p.m. CT on Oct. 12 at the Ferrell Center. Portions of the event will be broadcast live on ESPNU, and admission is free with doors opening at 7:30 p.m.

The Bears open the 2012-13 season with an exhibition against Abilene Christian at 7 p.m. on Oct. 25. Season tickets are on sale starting at $150. Call the Baylor Athletics Ticket Office at 254-710-1000, or visit for more information.

Pierre Jackson, G - Baylor
Jeff Withey, C - Kansas
Rodney McGruder, G - Kansas State
Le'Bryan Nash, G/F - Oklahoma State
Myck Kabongo, G - Texas

Honorable mention: Isaiah Austin, Baylor; Elijah Johnson, Kansas; Romero Osby & Steven Pledger, Oklahoma; Marcus Smart, Oklahoma State; Sheldon McClellan, Texas.

Preseason Player of the Year: Pierre Jackson, Baylor
Preseason Newcomer of the Year: Amath M'Baye, Oklahoma
Preseason Freshman of the Year: Marcus Smart, Oklahoma State



Online Store