Skip to main content Skip to footer
MBB Picked Third in Big 12 Preseason Poll

Baylor is receiving first-place votes for the second time in Big 12 history.

Oct. 13, 2011

Complete Big 12 Preseason Coaches Poll Release

IRVING, Texas –The Baylor men’s basketball team has been selected to finish third in the 2011-12 Big 12 Conference Preseason Poll in a vote by the league’s head coaches. Coaches are not allowed to vote for their own teams.

Baylor’s third-place selection is its highest preseason tally in program history, matching the 2008-09 poll (tied for third). The Bears also received first-place votes (two) for only the second time in Big 12 history (received two in 2008-09). In the last five seasons, Baylor has been picked ninth in 2007-08 (NCAA Tournament), third in 2008-09 (NIT runner-up), 10th in 2009-10 (NCAA Elite Eight), fourth in 2010-11, and third in 2011-12.

Baylor finished 10 points behind preseason favorites Kansas (five first-place votes) and Texas A&M (two first-place votes). Missouri, which was selected fourth, was the only school to receive a first-place vote. The remainder of the poll is Texas (fifth), Kansas State (sixth), Oklahoma State (seventh), Iowa State (eighth) and Oklahoma and Texas Tech (tied for ninth).

Last week, sophomore Perry Jones III was named Big 12 Preseason Player of the Year by the league’s head coaches, marking the first time in program history that Baylor has had the conference’s preseason Player of the Year.

Big 12 Conference action starts on Mon., Jan. 2 – matching the earliest start in league history (1998-99). Big 12 teams will face a full double round-robin schedule in conference play for the first time in league history this season.

The Big 12 will hold its preseason media day on Thu., Oct. 20, at Sprint Center in Kansas City, site of the 2012 Phillips 66 Big 12 Men’s Basketball Championship. Live coverage will be available at

Follow the Official Twitter feed of Baylor Basketball, @BaylorMBB.


Team (First-Place Votes) Pts
t1. Kansas (5) 73
t1. Texas A&M (2) 73
3. BAYLOR (2) 63
4. Missouri (1) 61
5. Texas 51
6. Kansas State 39
7. Oklahoma State 33
8. Iowa State 27
t9. Oklahoma 15
t9. Texas Tech 15

10 points were awarded for first place, nine for second, etc.; Coaches are not permitted to vote for their own team.



Online Store