Skip to main content Skip to footer
Men's Hoops to Play in 2011 Charleston Classic

Nov. 10, 2010

CHARLESTON, S.C. - The Baylor men's basketball team has been selected to participate in the 2011 Charleston Classic, which will be held Nov. 17, 18 and 20, at Carolina First Arena. The Charleston Classic is owned and operated by ESPN Regional Television, Inc. (ERT), a subsidiary of ESPN.

Baylor's inclusion in the Charleston Classic marks the fourth consecutive season the Bears will play in an ESPN-hosted tournament. In 2008, Baylor lost in the championship of the 76 Classic in Anaheim, Calif. In 2009, the Bears finished fifth at the Old Spice Classic in Lake Buena Vista, Fla. Next month, Baylor will play in the Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic in Honolulu, Hawai`i.

The Southern Conference (SoCon) will serve as the event's sponsoring conference for the fourth straight year. In addition to Baylor, the field for the fourth annual Charleston Classic will include Georgia Tech (ACC), LSU (SEC), Saint Joseph's (Atlantic 10), Seton Hall (BIG EAST), Tulsa (Conference USA), Virginia Commonwealth (CAA) and Western Kentucky (Sun Belt). Five of the eight teams reached the 2010 postseason - Baylor and Georgia Tech played in the NCAA Tournament, while Seton Hall and Tulsa earned National Invitation Tournament berths. Virginia Commonwealth won the College Basketball Invitational.

The 2011 Charleston Classic, a bracket-format tournament, will feature 12 games over the three days (Nov. 17, 18 and 20). Each team will compete in one game per day, advancing through a bracket-tournament format. The two teams that remain undefeated throughout will face off in a championship game Sun., Nov. 20.

Additional information, including travel packages, can be found on the Charleston Classic web site at

No. 16/14 Baylor opens the 2010-11 regular season Fri., Nov. 12, against Grambling State. Tip-off is scheduled for 8:30 p.m. CST at the Ferrell Center.



Online Store