Skip to main content Skip to footer
Udoh Named Big 12 Rookie of the Week

Nov. 30, 2009

IRVING, Texas - Baylor junior forward Ekpe Udoh was named the Phillips 66 Big 12 Rookie of the Week for Nov. 23-29 Monday in voting by a panel of media covering the conference.

It is the first weekly honor for Udoh. The Edmond, Okla., native is the first Bear to earn top rookie recognition since Quincy Acy did it last season. Udoh is one of four current Baylor players that have been named Big 12 Rookie of the Week, joining Tweety Carter, two-time winner LaceDarius Dunn and Acy.

He is the first Baylor non-freshman to win the award since Tim Bush accomplished it as a junior in 2005. At least one Baylor rookie has earned top rookie honors in six consecutive seasons.

Udoh averaged 15.0 points, 10.0 rebounds, 3.3 assists and 4.3 blocks last week to the lead Baylor (6-1) to a 2-1 record at the Old Spice Classic in Lake Buena Vista, Fla. He posted back-to-back double-doubles in Baylor's first two games at the Old Spice - 17 points and 10 rebounds vs. Alabama (Nov. 26) and 13 points, a career-high tying 11 rebounds and five blocked shots vs. Iona (Nov. 27).

Udoh concluded the tournament with 15 points, nine rebounds, four assists and a season-high six blocked shots in Baylor's 69-64 win over Xavier Sunday. For Udoh's efforts, he was named to the Old Spice Classic All-Tournament Team.

The 6-foot-10 power forward has scored in double figures in seven consecutive games for the first time in his career. With four double-doubles to his credit, he is averaging 15.4 points, 9.3 rebounds and 3.6 blocks through the season's first seven games.

Baylor returns to action Thursday, Dec. 3, when the Bears face the Arizona State Sun Devils in Tempe, Ariz., as part of the Big 12/Pac-10 Hardwood Series. The game will tip at 9:36 p.m. EST and will be televised nationally on FSN.

1997 - Leon Moore, Fr. (12/30)
2000 - Terry Black, Jr. (11/30)
2001 - Chad Elsey, Jr. (12/18)
2002 - Lawrence Roberts, Fr. (11/26); John Lucas III, Fr. (12/10, 1/7)
2005 - Aaron Bruce, Fr. (12/27); Tim Bush, Jr. (1/3)
2006 - Curtis Jerrells, Fr. (2/13)
2007 - Tweety Carter, Fr. 12/18)
2008 - LaceDarius Dunn, Fr. (11/26, 3/10)
2009 - Quincy Acy, Fr. (11/24)
2010 - Ekpe Udoh, Jr. (11/30)



Online Store