Skip to main content Skip to footer
Jackson Named 2012 Bob Cousy Award Candidate

Pierre Jackson

Dec. 19, 2011

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. - Baylor men's basketball junior Pierre Jackson was named a candidate for the 2012 Bob Cousy Collegiate Point Guard of the Year award, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced Monday.

Jackson is one of five Big 12 point guards among the 60 candidates, joining Kansas' Tyshawn Taylor, Missouri's Mike Dixon, Texas' Myck Kabongo and Texas A&M's Dash Harris. Jackson, who was the 2011 NJCAA Division I Player of the Year after leading the College of Southern Idaho to a national title, is averaging 12.0 points and 4.7 assists in 23.7 minutes off the bench. The Las Vegas native is shooting 58 percent from the floor, a Big 12-leading 58 percent from 3-point range (14-of-24), and a blistering 90.3 percent at the free throw line.

"The Hall of Fame is honored to be working with Mr. Cousy once again to present this prestigious award," President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame John L. Doleva said in the official release. "The list of candidates includes the top players from across the country that have shown the same leadership, hard work and determination that Mr. Cousy exemplified on the court for many years. We are excited to honor his legacy with the winner of this year's award."

The original list of candidates will be narrowed to 20 by Jan. 1, the final 10 by Feb. 1, and the final five by March 1. A premier Selection Committee will be appointed by the Hall of Fame to review the final five candidates in contention for the nation's top college point guard award. These Hall of Fame committees are made up of top college basketball personnel, including media members, head coaches, Sports Information Directors and Hall of Famers. The winner of the 2012 Bob Cousy Award will be presented at the Hall of Fame's Class Announcement on Championship Monday in New Orleans as part of NCAA Final Four weekend.

Previous winners of the Bob Cousy Award include Jameer Nelson (St. Joseph's), Raymond Felton (North Carolina), Dee Brown (Illinois), Acie Law (Texas A&M), D.J. Augustin (Texas), Ty Lawson (North Carolina), Greivis Vasquez (Maryland) and last year's recipient, Kemba Walker (UConn). For more information on the 2012 Bob Cousy, log onto

Follow the Official Twitter feed of Baylor Basketball, @BaylorMBB.



Online Store