Skip to main content Skip to footer
MBB's Jackson Named Cousy Award Candidate

Pierre Jackson is one of three players ranked in the nation's top 50 in scoring and assists.

Dec. 20, 2012

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – Baylor men’s basketball senior Pierre Jackson has been named a candidate for the 2013 Bob Cousy Collegiate Point Guard of the Year Award, as announced by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame Thursday.

The annual honor, named for Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtic Bob Cousy, recognizes the top point guards in men’s college basketball. The initial lists of candidates has 85 members, including five from the Big 12 Conference – Jackson, Korie Lucious (Iowa State), Marcus Smart (Oklahoma State), Kyan Anderson (TCU) and Elijah Johnson (Kansas).

A Las Vegas, Nev., native, Jackson leads the Big 12 and ranks 28th nationally with 19.8 points per game, and he also leads the Big 12 and ranks 19th nationally with 6.2 assists per game. He’s one of only three players to rank in the top 50 nationally in both points and assists, joining Nate Wolters (South Dakota State) and Matthew Dellavedova (St. Mary’s).

Jackson has the Big 12 Conference’s longest active streak with 18 consecutive games scoring in double figures. He’s averaged 18.4 points and 6.2 assists per game during the streak.

Jackson was one of 11 finalists for the award in his debut season in Waco last year. He’s one of five 2012 finalists returning as 2013 candidates, joining Phil Pressey (Missouri), Isaiah Canaan (Murray State), Aaron Craft (Ohio State) and Dellavedova (Saint Mary’s).

The watch list of candidates will be narrowed down to a final 20 around January 1, final 10 near February 1, and final five by approximately March 1. A selection committee has been appointed by the Hall of Fame to review the final five candidates in contention for the nation’s top collegiate point guard award. The winner of the 2013 Bob Cousy Award will be presented at the Hall of Fame’s Class Announcement on Championship Monday in Atlanta as part of NCAA Final Four weekend.

Previous winners of the Bob Cousy Award have included Jameer Nelson (St. Joseph’s), Raymond Felton (North Carolina), Dee Brown (Illinois), Acie Law (Texas A & M), DJ Augustin (Texas), Ty Lawson (North Carolina), Greivis Vasquez (Maryland), Kemba Walker (Connecticut) and last year’s recipient Kendall Marshall (North Carolina). For more information on the 2013 Bob Cousy, log onto



Online Store