Skip to main content Skip to footer
Men's Hoops Hawai`i-Bound in 2010

Dec. 22, 2009

HONOLULU, Hawai`i - The Baylor men's basketball team has been selected to participate in the 2010 Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic at the Stan Sheriff Center on the campus of the University of Hawai`i at Manoa. The field was announced Tuesday by ESPN Regional Television, Inc. (ERT), a subsidiary of ESPN.

Baylor's inclusion in the first-year event marks the third consecutive season the Bears will play in an ESPN-hosted tournament. In 2008, Baylor lost in the championship game of the 76 Classic in Anaheim, Calif. Last month, the Bears finished fifth at the Old Spice Classic in Lake Buena Vista, Fla.

Tournament host school Hawai`i (WAC) will again be part of the eight-team field for the Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic, along with Butler (Horizon), Florida State (ACC), Mississippi State (SEC), San Diego (West Coast), Utah (Mountain West) and one team to be determined. Five of the seven teams reached the postseason in 2008-09, with Butler, Florida State, Mississippi State and Utah playing in the 2009 NCAA Tournament. Baylor, which is off to a 9-1 start for the third straight season, advanced to the 2009 National Invitation Tournament championship game in New York City.

"With the announcement of this outstanding field, we see the excitement and the attractiveness of Hawai`i that the Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic offers to the collegiate basketball community," ESPN Regional Television senior vice president and general manager Pete Derzis said. "We have an extremely balanced group of teams representing so many different part of the country."

The Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic, an eight-team men's college basketball tournament, will feature 12 games in three days (Dec. 22, 23 and 25). The Sheraton Hawai`i Bowl, also owned by ESPN Regional Television, will be played Dec 24.

The tournament setup is identical to that of both the 76 and Old Spice Classics. Each team will compete in one game per day, advancing through a bracket-tournament format. The two teams that remain undefeated throughout will face off in a championship match on Christmas Day (Dec. 25, 2010).

Additional information can be found on the Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic's official Web site,

Hawaiian Airlines, Inc. is a subsidiary of Hawaiian Holdings, Inc. (NASDAQ: HA). Additional information is available at

The nation's largest syndicator of collegiate sports programming, ESPN Regional Television (ERT) annually produces more than 1,000 telecasts of sporting events. Programming includes football, basketball, NCAA events, golf and NHRA events accounting for more than 2,200 live and/or original hours of programming. In addition to event ownership, ERT is the production headquarters for ESPNU, the 24-hour college sports network; syndication rights-holder and producer of national, regional and local shows for college conferences (e.g. - SEC, BIG EAST, Big 12, Mid-American, Sun Belt, WAC).

ESPN Regional Television markets and/or owns several sporting events, including collegiate football events: the Beef `O' Brady's Bowl St. Petersburg; Bell Helicopter Armed Forces Bowl (Fort Worth, Texas); MAACO Bowl Las Vegas; New Mexico Bowl (Albuquerque); Bowl (Birmingham, Ala.); Sheraton Hawai`i Bowl (Honolulu); the MEAC/SWAC Challenge presented by Disney (Orlando, Fla.); and The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards; collegiate basketball events: the 76 Classic (Anaheim, Calif.); Charleston Classic (S.C.); DIRECTV SEC/BIG EAST Invitational; ESPNU Road to the Championship (Women; San Antonio); Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic (Honolulu); Old Spice Classic (Walt Disney World Resort near Orlando, Fla.); O'Reilly Auto Parts Puerto Rico Tip-Off (San Juan); SONIC All-College Basketball Classic (Oklahoma City) and BracketBusters; as well as the ESPN National Golf Challenge presented by Callaway. For more information, visit



Online Store