Skip to main content Skip to footer
Baylor Announces All-Decade Football Team

Jan. 5, 2010

By Jerry Hill
Baylor Bear Insider

Coming off a season in which they earned All-Big 12 and All-America honors, linebacker Joe Pawelek and center J.D. Walton were unanimous picks on the Baylor All-Decade Football team that was released Tuesday.

Selected by a panel of nine voters that includes Baylor Hall of Fame running back Walter Abercrombie and Dave Campbell, the former Baylor Bear Insider editor and Texas Football magazine creator, the All-Decade team also includes free safety Jordan Lake, defensive lineman Jason Lamb and receiver Kendall Wright off the 2009 team and 2008 All-America offensive lineman Jason Smith.

Also named as unanimous selections were running back Rashad Armstrong, wide receiver Dominique Zeigler, offensive lineman Dan Gay, kicker Ryan Havens, three-time All-America punter Daniel Sepulveda, Smith, Lamb and Lake.

Receiver was obviously one of the strongest positions throughout the decade. Joining Zeigler on the team are all-time leading receiver Reggie Newhouse, while Wright and Trent Shelton were deadlocked in balloting for the third spot on the team.

Newhouse, Zeigler and Shelton rank first, second and fourth, respectively in career catches, while Wright has already cracked the top 10 with 116 catches in his first two seasons.

At quarterback, Bell got the nod over 2008 Freshman All-American Robert Griffin. Not only did Bell finish No. 2 in career yards passing (5,666) and set school records for career completions (559), attempts (914), completion percentage (61.2) and touchdown passes (38), he picked up six of the Bears' 13 conference wins in the Big 12 era.

Joining Walton, Smith and Gay in the offensive line are Greg Jerman and Lequalan McDonald, while Paul Mosley claimed the other spot in the backfield with Armstrong.

Pawelek finished as Baylor's No. 2 all-time tackler and first among active FBS Division I players with 422 career stops, earning third-team All-America honors from Phil Steele and second-team Academic All-America recognition each of the last two years.

Justin Crooks and John Garrett make up the rest of the linebacking corps, while Lamb is joined up front on the defensive line by defensive ends A.C. Collier and Khari Long and defensive tackle Ethan Kelley.

Willie Andrews, who was Baylor's first two-time first-team All-Big 12 pick, was named the kick returner on the All-Decade team and is part of a secondary that includes Lake and All-Big 12 cornerbacks Gary Baxter and C.J. Wilson.

QB Shawn Bell (2003-06): 2nd all-time in career passing yards with 5,666

RB Rashad Armstrong (2002-03): Produced Baylor's only 1,000-yard season in Big 12 era with 1,074 yards in '03

RB Paul Mosley (2003-06): Ranks 10th all-time with 1,718 career yards rushing

WR Reggie Newhouse (1999-02): All-time career leader with 183 catches and 2,552 yards

WR Trent Shelton (2003-06): 4th all-time with 155 career catches, 1,978 yards and 14 TDs

IR Kendall Wright (2008-09): Sophomore has already cracked top-10 with 116 catches, 1,389 yards (9th) and nine TDs

WR Dominique Zeigler (2003-06): 2nd all-time with 166 catches for 1,923 yards (1) and 13 TDs

CENTER J.D. Walton (2007-09): 1st-team All-American by AP and finalist for 2009 Rimington Trophy

OL Dan Gay (2005-08): Two-time honorable mention All-Big 12 pick who started at every position on line except center

OL Greg Jerman (1998-01): Started 38 career games, including all 11 at right tackle in '01, when he was second-team All-Big 12

OL Lequalan McDonald (2002-05): Started 34 consecutive games, helped pave way for only 1,000-yard rusher in Big 12 era

OL Jason Smith (2005-08): Consensus All-American and unanimous first-team All-Big 12 pick at left tackle in 2008

DL A.C. Collier (2001-02): Big 12 Defensive Newcomer of the Year in 2001, when he 11 tackles for losses and team-high six sacks

DL Ethan Kelley (1999-02): Team-high 76 tackles with 2 sacks and 14 QB hurries as senior in `02

DL Jason Lamb (2006-09): Defensive Co-MVP in 2009, started 43 career games with 21.5 tackles for losses and 9.5 sacks

DL Khari Long (2001-04): Tied for 10th all-time and 3rd in this decade with 9.0 sacks

LB Justin Crooks (2001-04): Second-team All-Big 12 in '04, had 87 tackles, 16 tackles for losses and 2 sacks

LB John Garrett (2000-03): Ranks 2nd in career tackles for losses (38.5) and 5th in career sacks (13.0

LB Joe Pawelek (2006-09): 3rd-team All-American ranks No. 2 all-time with 422 career tackles

CB Gary Baxter (1997-2000): 1st-team All-Big 12 by AP in 2000, shared team lead with 96 tackles, 11 pass breakups and 2 forced fumbles

CB C.J. Wilson (2003-06): Second-team All-Big 12 in 2005 and '06, had 9 career interceptions

S Willie Andrews (2002-05): Baylor's first two-time, first-team All-Big 12 pick, earning honors as a kick returner in '04 and DB in '05

FS Jordan Lake (2006-09): First-team All-Big 12 pick in '08 (consensus) and '09 (Associated Press), had 324 career tackles

KR Willie Andrews (2002-05): Set most of Baylor's career kick return records, including total kick return yards (2,596)

PK Ryan Havens (2003-06): 10th all-time and first in this decade with 135 points (6th all-time among kickers)

P Daniel Sepulveda (2003-06): Two-time Ray Guy Award winner (2004, 06), set NCAA record with 45.24 average

QB: Robert Griffin
RB: Darrell Bush, Jay Finley, Brandon Whitaker
OL: James Barnard, Cedric Fields, Quintin Outland
DL: Marcus Foreman, Montez Murphy, Kevin Stevenson
LB: Colin Allred, Kris Micheaux
DB: Maurice Lane, Daniel Wilturner
KR: Robert Quiroga, Shaun Rochon

Voting panel: Walter Abercrombie, Baylor Associate Athletic Director and Hall of Fame running back; Paul Bradshaw, Baylor Associate Athletic Director; Dave Campbell, former Baylor Bear Insider editor and Texas Football magazine creator; Kim Gorum, former Waco Tribune-Herald sports editor and currently Baylor journalism teacher; Jerry Hill, Baylor Bear Insider editor and Tribune-Herald football beat writer for 21 years; Nick Joos, Baylor Senior Associate Athletic Director; John Morris, Voice of the Bears and Baylor Assistant Athletic Director; Heath Nielsen, Baylor Assistant Athletic Director/Media Relations; John Werner, Tribune-Herald football beat writer



Online Store