Skip to main content Skip to footer
Petty Claims Inaugural Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award

Bryce Petty

Jan. 17, 2014

TYLER, Texas - Baylor junior quarterback Bryce Petty was named the recipient of the inaugural Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award, the Tyler Chamber of Commerce and SPORTyler announced Friday.

Petty received the award at The Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award Banquet Friday evening at the Willow Brook Country Club in Tyler, Texas.

In his first year as a starter, the junior signal caller passed for 323.1 yards per game and 32 touchdowns, while completing 62.0 percent of his passes and only throwing three interceptions. He led the nation with 16.8 yards per completion and finished second with a passing efficiency of 174.29.

Petty, named an All-American by Athlon Sports and, received Big 12 Offensive Player of the Year honors from seven publications and was a unanimous All-Big 12 first-team selection.

The Midlothian, Texas, native was also a threat on the ground where he rushed for 209 yards and 14 touchdowns to post a total offensive output of 4,409 yards and 46 touchdowns. Those marks ranked eighth and third nationally, respectively.

With Petty under center, Baylor won the most games in school history (11), clinched its first Big 12 championship and earned the program's first BCS bowl berth. The Bears finished the season 11-2 and 8-1 in Big 12 play, the most wins in league play in BU history.

He was also a semifinalist for the Maxwell, O'Brien, and Walter Camp Awards and threw for at least 200 yards and two touchdowns in each of his 13 starts.

Petty claimed the Campbell Award over four finalists: Jace Amaro (Texas Tech), Mike Evans (Texas A&M), James Franklin (Missouri) and Johnny Manziel (Texas A&M).

The Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award, announced in 2012 by the Tyler Chamber and SPORTyler, recognizes the top offensive player in Division I football who also exhibits the enduring characteristics that define Earl Campbell: integrity, performance, teamwork, sportsmanship, drive, community, and tenacity; specifically tenacity to persist and determination to overcome adversity and injury in pursuit of reaching goals.

In addition, the nominee must meet one or more of the following criteria: born in Texas and/or graduated from a Texas High School and/or played at a Texas-based junior college or four-year DI Texas college.

To stay current on all things Baylor Football, follow the team on Twitter and Instagram: @BUFootball.



Online Store