Pawelek Named To 2009 Watch Lists

April 9, 2009

WACO, Texas - Baylor linebacker Joe Pawelek has been included on two recently announced national football award watch lists. The senior-to-be is one of 48 players on the 2009 Rotary Lombardi Award preliminary watch list as well as one of 42 players named to the 2009 Lott Trophy watch list.

Pawelek is a three-year starter from San Antonio who was named All-America, Academic All-America and All-Big 12 in 2008 as a junior. He ranked seventh nationally in tackles last season (10.7 tackles per game) and seventh in interceptions (0.5 interceptions per game) - the only player ranked in the top 10 of both categories.

The 6-2, 240-pound totaled 128 tackles and six interceptions in 2008, and was on the Butkus Award watch list as a junior. Pawelek has started 34 of 36 career games and with 313 career tackles is three shy of entering Baylor's all-time top 10 listing.

The Rotary Lombardi Award is for down linemen and those defensive players who line up within five yards of the football. The Rotary Lombardi Award Watch List will be updated prior to the start of the 2009 season. The Rotary Lombardi Selection Committee is comprised of more than 500 members, including all past winners and finalists, all Division 1-A head coaches and a panel of sportswriters and broadcasters. The 40th Rotary Lombardi Award dinner will be held on December 9, 2009 in Houston.

The Lott Trophy, named after hall of famer Ronnie Lott, is in its sixth year and is the only college football award to equally recognize athletic performance and the personal character attributes of the player. Sponsored by The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation, the award is given to a player who exhibits the same characteristics Lott embodied during his distinguished career: Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity. Voters for the award include media, previous finalists, the Board of Directors of the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation, The IMPACT Foundation Board of Advisors comprised of many retired NFL players and Legends Coaches, a distinguished group of former head college coaches. The winner will be announced at a gala black-tie banquet at The Pacific Club in Newport Beach, Ca. on December 13th, 2009.



Online Store