Skip to main content Skip to footer
Epperson Among Nine Honored by NFF Dallas

April 15, 2011

Complete NFF Gridiron Club of Dallas Release

DALLAS, Texas – Baylor All-American punter Derek Epperson is among nine area football players named to the 2011 Collegiate Gridiron Club of Dallas Scholar-Athletes list by the National Football Foundation (NFF) Gridiron Club of Dallas. The student-athletes will be recognized at the club’s third annual banquet April 20 at Cowboys Stadium in Arlington, Texas.

Epperson was a semifinalist for the 2010 William V. Campbell Trophy, which is considered as the “Academic Heisman.” A three-time All-Big 12 honoree, Epperson finished his career third in Baylor history in both punting yards (9,574) and punting average(42.74). He boasted 49 punts of 50-plus yards, ranking second in school history, and launched eight punts of 60 or more yards – the third-most in school history. Epperson is a three-time Academic All-Big 12 honoree and was named to the ESPN/CoSIDA Academic All-America second team in 2010.

He garnered second-team All-Big 12 honors from The Dallas Morning News, Fort Worth Star-Telegram and San Antonio Express-News and honorable mention from the AP and the league’s coaches. He was a five-time Big 12 Commissioner’s Honor Roll member and graduated in August 2010 with a degree in management information systems.

The nine scholar-athletes were selected as the best from the entire region at the collegiate level for their combined achievements as students, athletes and leaders in their respective communities. The selection committee included coaches, teachers, administrators and business leaders from the North Texas area.

Evan Beaton, East Texas Baptist
Derek Epperson, Baylor
Zack Eskridge, Midwestern State
Adam Farkes, Texas A&M-Commerce
Pete Fleps, SMU
Bart Johnson, TCU
Austin Light, Austin College
Micah Mosley, North Texas
Jacob Rowe, Tarleton State



Online Store