Skip to main content Skip to footer
Florence, Jackson Named to NFF Hampshire Honor Society

Jake Jackson was one of five players in program history to be named first-team Academic All-Big 12 in four straight seasons.

May 2, 2013

DALLAS – Baylor’s Nick Florence and Jake Jackson were named to the 2013 Hampshire Honor Society by the National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame (NFF), the organizations announced Thursday.

The NFF Hampshire Honor Society is comprised of college football players from all divisions of play who each maintained a cumulative 3.2 GPA or better throughout their college career. A total of 703 players from 259 schools qualified for membership in the society’s seventh year, marking the highest school participation in the history of the program, which began in 2007.

Florence and Jackson follow Robert Griffin III and Terrance Ganaway, who were honored on the 2012 Hampshire Honor Society. Jackson, an offensive lineman from Southlake, Texas, was one of five players in program history to be named first-team Academic All-Big 12 in four consecutive seasons. Florence, an All-Big 12 quarterback from Garland, Texas, was the first Baylor player named first-team Academic All-America since Daniel Sepulveda in 2006.

The NFF Hampshire Honor Society capitalizes on the NFF's current National Scholar-Athlete program greatly expanding the number of scholar-athletes the NFF can recognize each year. The program further strengthens the organization's leadership role in encouraging academic performance by the student-athletes who play football at the more than 700 college and universities with football programs nationwide.

Jon F. Hanson, the chairman and founder of The Hampshire Companies, provided the endowment to launch the NFF Hampshire Honor Society in 2007. He made the contribution as part of his legacy to the organization after serving as NFF chairman from 1994-2006. He currently serves the organization as a chairman emeritus. Each player awarded with membership in this year's Honor Society will receive a certificate commemorating their achievement.

Qualifications for membership in the NFF Hampshire Honor Society include:
• Being a starter or a significant substitute in one's last year of eligibility at an accredited NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision, Football Championship Subdivision, Division II, Division III, or an NAIA college or university;
• Achieving a 3.2 cumulative grade point average throughout entire course of undergraduate study; and
• Meeting all NCAA-mandated progress towards degree requirements and graduation.



Online Store