Walton On 2009 Rimington Award List

Senior J.D. Walton is a 2009 Rimington Award candidate.

May 21, 2009

Baylor senior center J.D. Walton is one of 12 members of last year's Rimington Award watch list named to the award's 44-man 2009 spring watch list, released by the trophy's selection committee. The 10-year-old award annually recognizes the nation's top center.

Walton has started every game of his career, 24 straight starts since transferring from Arizona State in 2006. He was selected honorable mention All-Big 12 in 2008 by the Associated Press after anchoring an offensive line that generated 2,349 rushing yards, the most at Baylor since 1981, as well as 29 rushing touchdowns.

The senior from Allen, Texas, is one of five Big 12 student-athletes on the watch list. The other conference centers include Tim Barnes from Missouri, Chris Hall at Texas, Jacob Hickman at Nebraska and Kevin Mathews at Texas A&M.

The winner will be honored at Rimington Trophy Presentation banquet at the Rococo Theater in Lincoln, Neb., on Jan. 16, 2010.

The trophy is presented by the Boomer Esiason Foundation. Past recipients include Nebraska's Dominic Raiola, Ohio State's LeCharles Bentley, Miami's Brett Romberg, Virginia Tech's Jake Grove, co-winners Michigan's David Baas and LSU's Ben Wilkerson, Minnesota's Greg Eslinger, West Virginia's Dan Mozes, Arkansas' Jonathan Luigs, and Penn State's A.Q. Shipley. Since its inception the Rimington Trophy Award has raised over $1.3 million for the award's benefactor, the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation, which is hosted by the Boomer Esiason Foundation that to date has raised over $73 milllion for CF Research.



Online Store