Skip to main content Skip to footer
Seastrunk Named To Maxwell Award Watch List

Lache Seastrunk

July 8, 2013

PHILADELPHIA - Baylor junior running back Lache Seastrunk has earned a spot on the 76-man watch list for the 77th annual Maxwell Award, The Maxwell Football Club announced Monday. Seastrunk is one of six Big 12 players on the list and one of 28 running backs featured.

The Maxwell Award has been given annually to America's outstanding collegiate football player since 1937, and the award is named in honor of sportswriter Robert W. "Tiny" Maxwell.

The Bears have now had one player on the award's watch list for the last three seasons as Robert Griffin III was honored in 2011 and Terrance Williams made last season's list. RG3 was a semifinalist for the award in both 2010 and 2011.

In his first season at Baylor in 2012, Seastrunk led the BU rushing attack with 1,012 yards on 131 carries. The Temple, Texas-native really shined in the latter part of the season, as he racked up 831 yards and six of his seven TDs for the season over the final six games.

He earned Big 12 Offensive Newcomer of the Year honors from the league's coaches and was named the offensive MVP in Baylor's Holiday Bowl win over UCLA. In that contest, Seastrunk posted 138 rushing yards on 16 attempts, including a 43-yard TD scamper.

Seastrunk burst onto the scene in early November as he helped the Bears upset No. 1 Kansas State by tallying a season-high 185 yards on 19 carries with a season-long 80-yard touchdown run.

For the season, Seastrunk set three school records, including the single-season mark of 7.7 yards-per-rush. He enters the 2013 season having recorded 100 yards or more in four straight contests.

Semifinalists for the Maxwell Award will be announced Oct. 29, while three finalists will be unveiled Nov. 25. The winners of the 2013 Maxwell Award will be announced as part of the Home Depot College Football Awards Show held on Dec. 12. The formal presentations of the awards will be made at the Maxwell Football Club Awards Gala hosted by Harrah's Entertainment Atlantic City on March 7.

The watch list candidates have been chosen by the Maxwell Football Club's selection committee, which analyzes both past performance and future potential. The Club reserves the right to make additions and deletions to these lists as the 2013 season unfolds. All members of the Maxwell Football Club, NCAA sports information directors, FBS head coaches and selected national media are eligible to vote for the awards.

Other Big 12 players on the list include: David Ash (Texas), Blake Bell (Oklahoma), John Hubert (Kansas State), Casey Pachall (TCU) and Charles Sims (West Virginia).

For the latest news on the Baylor football team follow its official Twitter account: @BUFootball.



Online Store