Skip to main content Skip to footer
Roth Makes Ray Guy Award Watch List

Spencer Roth

July 9, 2014

AUGUSTA, Ga. - Baylor senior punter Spencer Roth is one of 25 members on the 2014 Ray Guy Award watch list, the Augusta Sports Council announced on Wednesday. The Ray Guy Award honors the nation's top collegiate punter.

Roth, a 2013 All-American and consensus All-Big 12 first-team player, enters his fourth year as BU's starting punter with 36 career games played.

Despite Baylor's nation-best offense not needing to punt often, Roth was a standout in his limited opportunities in 2013. He averaged 45.8 yards on 52 punts (2,379 yards), with four 60-yarders, 17 50-yarders, 17 inside-the-20, 20 fair caught and seven touchbacks on the season. Roth's standout game in 2013 came in the third contest of the year vs. ULM when he nailed a career-long 72-yard punt and also had a 64-yarder.

Entering 2014, Roth's career average of 43.85 ranks second all-time at BU. He is ranked seventh on the career list for 60-yard punts (seven) and ninth in career 50-yard punts (28) going into his final season in Waco.

Roth is one of three punters from the Big 12 Conference on the list. He joins Trevor Pardula (Kansas) and Nick O'Toole (West Virginia).

Midway through last season, Roth was selected as one of 85 candidates for the award continuing BU's long history with the honor. Baylor's Daniel Sepulveda is the only two-time winner of the award (2004 and 2006). Meanwhile, Roth's predecessor at BU, Derek Epperson, was a 2008 semifinalist for the honor and a three-time watch list member.

The number of eligible candidates for this season will grow when the award opens for nominations in September. The complete list of candidates will be released on Oct. 31. In early November, the Ray Guy Award committee will meet to select the 10 semi-finalists, who will be announced on Nov. 14. A national body of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) sports information directors, coaches, media representatives, and previous Ray Guy Award winners will then vote for the top three finalists, to be announced on Nov. 24. After the finalists are named, the voting body will cast ballots again to select the nation's top punter. The winner will be announced live during The Home Depot College Football Awards airing on ESPN on Dec. 11.

The Augusta Sports Council created the Ray Guy Award in 2000 to honor Thomson, Georgia native and College Football Hall of Fame inductee, Ray Guy. Among the statistics used to identify the winner is net punting average, number of times a punt is downed or kicked out of bounds inside the opponents 20-yard line, total yardage punted, average returned yardage, and percentage of punts not returned. The winner must display team leadership, self-discipline, and have a positive impact on the team's success.

For the latest news on the Baylor football team follow its official Twitter account: @BUFootball.



Online Store