Skip to main content Skip to footer
Richardson Named to Outland Trophy Watch List

Richardson started all 13 games at left tackle in 2011.

July 12, 2012

DALLAS - Baylor junior offensive lineman Cyril Richardson has been selected as one of 71 players on the preseason watch list for the 2012 Outland Trophy, as announced by the Football Writers Association of America on Thursday.

The Outland Trophy is awarded to the best interior lineman in college football. Only tackles, guards and centers on both sides of the ball are eligible for the honor, which has been presented annually since 1946 and is the third oldest award in major college football.

A Fort Worth, Texas, native, Richardson is entering his fourth year with the Baylor program. He earned honorable mention All-Big 12 honors after starting all 13 games at left tackle in 2011, but he moved back to guard in the spring and is expected to start the season as the Bears' left guard.

Richardson was one of nine players to start all 13 games a season ago. He ranked third on the team with 70 total knockdowns, averaged an 80.6 percent coaches' grade for the year and graded 81 percent or higher in 10 of 13 games. His highest grade for the season came when he recorded a season-high eight knockdowns and earned an 88 percent coaches' grade against Rice.

Richardson guarded the quarterback's blind side for an offensive line that ranked second nationally in total offense, fourth in passing offense and 10th in rushing offense.

As a redshirt freshman in 2010, Richardson played in 12 of 13 games and made four starts at guard. He was named to the Big 12 All-Freshman team and earned fifth-team Postseason All-Freshman honors from Phil Steele.

Richardson is joined on the watch list by fellow Big 12 players Blaize Foltz (TCU), Ben Habern (Oklahoma), Gabe Ikard (Oklahoma), Lane Taylor (Oklahoma State), LaAdrian Waddle (Texas Tech) and Mason Walters (Texas).

The Outland Trophy winner is chosen from three finalists who are part of the FWAA All-America Team. The FWAA All-America Committee selected the 25-man team and eventually the three Outland finalists to be named on Nov. 19. Committee members then vote on the winner, who will be recognized at the Outland Trophy presentation banquet in Omaha, Neb. on Jan. 10.

The Outland Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game's predominant awards.



Online Store