Skip to main content Skip to footer
Goodley, Norwood Make Biletnikoff Award Watch List

Antwan Goodley

July 15, 2014

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. - Baylor senior receivers Antwan Goodley and Levi Norwood each earned a spot on the 2014 Biletnikoff Award preseason watch list, released by the Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation Tuesday. The Biletnikoff Award annually recognizes the outstanding receiver in college football.

Baylor is one of only four schools in the country to have two receivers honored, joining Houston, South Alabama and UCF.

A semifinalist for the award last season, Goodley, had a breakout season in 2013 with 71 catches for 1,339 yards and 13 touchdowns. He earned All-America honors from four outlets and was a consensus first-team All-Big 12 selection. Goodley enters 2014 having started 14 straight games and caught a pass in 17 consecutive contests. The Midland, Texas, product ranks fifth in yards per reception (17.07), seventh in yards per game (41.51), eighth in TDs (15) and 12th in receiving yards (1,536) on school career lists heading into 2014. Last week, Goodley was selected to the Maxwell Award watch list.

Norwood boasts a team-high 39 career games played and 13 career starts. He currently owns a 27-game reception streak and six-game TD streak heading into 2014. Last season, Norwood earned All-Big 12 honorable mention honors as both a receiver and returner, as well as second-team All-Big 12 recognition by the San Antonio Express News as an "all-purpose" player. He played in all 13 games, while starting six as a junior. Norwood totaled 733 yards and eight TDs on 47 receptions. Last week, he appeared on the Paul Hornung Award watch list, given to the nation's most versatile player.

This season, the Biletnikoff Award watch list includes 55 players, while Goodley and Norwood make up a third of the Big 12 Conference's six players on the list.

Last season, Tevin Reese made the Biletnikoff watch list, which has been given annually since 1994. Former Bear Terrance Williams was one of three finalists for the award in 2012, and Kendall Wright was a semifinalist in 2011.

Any player at any position who catches a pass is eligible for consideration for the Biletnikoff Award. The award recipient is selected by the Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee, a group 221 prominent college football journalists, commentators, and former receivers. Receivers may be added to the watch list as their season performances dictate.

The 2014 Biletnikoff Award winner will be presented live on Dec. 11, on The Home Depot College Football Awards Show.

The Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, Inc., will announce the 10 Biletnikoff Award semifinalists on Nov. 17, following the vote by the 221 members of the Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee. Likewise, the three finalists will be declared, following another vote, on Nov. 24.

The award is named for Fred Biletnikoff, a member of the pro and college football halls of fame, who was an All-Pro receiver with the Oakland Raiders and an All-America receiver at Florida State. He caught 589 passes for 8,974 yards and 76 touchdowns in his 14-year Raiders career from 1965 through 1978. Fred was the Most Valuable Player of Super Bowl XI.

For the latest news on the Baylor football team follow its official Twitter account: @BUFootball.



Online Store