Skip to main content Skip to footer
Hager and Richardson on Lombardi Award Watch List

Bryce Hager is now on preseason watch lists for four national awards.

July 15, 2013

HOUSTON - Baylor senior offensive lineman Cyril Richardson and junior linebacker Bryce Hager have been named to the preliminary watch list for the 2013 Rotary Lombardi Award, the award's committee announced Monday.

Hager has now been named to four award watch lists: Rotary Lombardi (linemen), Butkus (linebackers), Nagurski (defensive players) and Bednarik (defensive players). Richardson is on the Outland Trophy (best interior lineman) and Rotary Lombardi (linemen) watch lists.

The Rotary Lombardi Award is presented annually to the nation's top lineman. Eligibility for the award is limited to down linemen, end-to-end, either on offense or defense, who set up no farther than 10 yards to the left or right of the ball, or linebackers who set up no farther than five yards deep from the line of scrimmage.

The award's watch list will be updated throughout the season, and voting by the selection committee of more than 500 past winners, finalists, all Division I head coaches and a panel of sportswriters and broadcasters will determine 12 semifinalists. The 44th annual Rotary Lombardi Award will be presented on Dec. 11 at the Wortham Center in Houston.

Richardson, a Fort Worth, Texas, native, received second-team All-America honors from the Associated Press and, while being named a unanimous All-Big 12 first-team selection. He was also tabbed the Big 12 Offensive Lineman of the Year by the league's coaches.

Hager started at middle linebacker in 10 of 13 games for the Bears in 2012, and he led the Big 12 with 9.5 tackles-per-game. The Austin, Texas-product totaled 124 tackles with 72 of those being solo stops. Hager had 9.5 tackles for 44 yards in losses, while recording four sacks, eight QB hurries and two forced fumbles. For his efforts, Hager was named to the All-Big 12 second team by the league's coaches and the Associated Press.

Richardson and Hager are among 12 Big 12 Conference players on the Rotary Lombardi Award preliminary watch list. They are joined by Calvin Barnett (Oklahoma State), Le'Raven Clark (Texas Tech), Devonte Fields (TCU), BJ Finney (Kansas State), Ben Heeney (Kansas), Chucky Hunter (TCU), Kerry Hyder (Texas Tech), Gabe Ikard (Oklahoma), Jackson Jeffcoat (Texas) and Mason Walters (Texas).

For the latest news on the Baylor football team follow its official Twitter account: @BUFootball.



Online Store