Skip to main content Skip to footer
Petty Earns Davey O'Brien Watch List Spot

Bryce Petty

July 16, 2014

FORT WORTH, Texas - Baylor senior quarterback Bryce Petty was named to the 2014 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award watch list, the award's foundation announced Wednesday. The O'Brien Award is given annually to the nation's best college quarterback.

Petty, who was a semifinalist for the award in 2013, is one of six returning semifinalists on this season's list. He is also one of five Big 12 signal callers to be recognized.

In his first season as a starter in 2013, Petty was named All-America by Athlon and Sporting News, a consensus Big 12 Offensive Player of the Year, while setting 17 school records. Besides being an O'Brien semifinalist, Petty won the Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award and was a semifinalist for the Maxwell Award.

On the field, he was the national leader in yards-per-completion (16.80) and second nationally in passing efficiency (174.29) and points responsible for per-game (21.2). The Midlothian, Texas, native led the Big 12 in passing yards (4,200, fourth nationally), total offense (339.2 yards/game, eighth nationally), passing touchdowns (32, 11th nationally), and rushing touchdowns (14, 19th nationally). He complete 250-of-403 passes (62.0 percent) and ran for 209 yards and 14 TDs on 94 rushes.

Last week, Petty was one of three Bears on the watch list for the Maxwell Award.

Baylor's Robert Griffin III was the 2011 Davey O'Brien Award, following his Heisman campaign.

Appearing on the Watch List is not a requirement for a player to win the Davey O'Brien Award. Quarterbacks from all 125 NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) schools are eligible for the award until the field is narrowed to 16 semifinalists on Nov. 3. The Foundation and the Selection Committee will announce three finalists on Nov. 24. The 2014 Davey O'Brien winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Dec. 11. The 38th Annual Davey O'Brien Awards Dinner will be held Monday, Feb. 16, 2015, in Fort Worth, Texas.

The Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. The Davey O'Brien Award honors candidates who exemplify Davey O'Brien's enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship and leadership in both academics and athletics.

For the latest news on the Baylor football team follow its official Twitter account: @BUFootball.



Online Store