Skip to main content Skip to footer
Martin and Seastrunk among Doak Walker Candidates

Lache Seastrunk averaged 138.5 rushing yards per game over Baylor's last six games in 2012.

July 18, 2013

DALLAS - Baylor running backs Glasco Martin and Lache Seastrunk have been named preseason candidates for the 2013 Doak Walker Award, as announced by the PwC SMU Athletic Forum Thursday.

The Doak Walker Award is presented annually to the nation's top college running back. There are 63 candidates on the preseason watch list for the 24th annual award, which is named for SMU's three-time All-America running back Doak Walker.

Baylor is one of nine teams to have two players listed among the candidates, joining Arizona State, Arkansas, BYU, Georgia, Kent State, Louisville, TCU and Wisconsin. There are nine Big 12 Conference players on the watch list.

The PwC SMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors will name the semifinalists Nov. 14, and finalists will be announced Nov. 25. The National Selection Committee will cast a second vote beginning Dec. 2 to determine the recipient. The committee consists of former NFL All-Pro and college All-America running backs, media members and selected special representatives.

The recipient of the 2013 Doak Walker Award will be announced live on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Dec. 12, and the presentation banquet will be held in Dallas in February 2013.

Martin, a Round Rock, Texas-product, rushed for 889 yards and 15 touchdowns with a 5.0 yards-per-carry average as a fourth-year junior in 2012. His 15 rushing TDs ranked second on Baylor's single-season list, and he was sixth in the Big 12 Conference in scoring with 6.9 points per game. Martin graduated in May with a degree in speech communications.

A Temple, Texas, native, Seastrunk picked up Big 12 Conference Preseason Offensive Player of the Year honors on Wednesday. He earned All-Big 12 honors and was named Big 12 Newcomer of the Year after rushing for 1,012 yards and seven touchdowns with a school-record 7.7 yards-per-carry average during his debut season in Waco last year. Seastrunk broke out over the final six games of the season, rushing for an average of 138.5 yards per game to help Baylor to a 5-1 finish. He was named 2012 Holiday Bowl Offensive MVP after rushing for 138 yards in the Bears' second straight bowl victory.

Martin and Seastrunk are joined on the watch list by fellow Big 12 Conference running backs James White (Iowa State), James Sims (Kansas), John Hubert (Kansas State), Damien Williams (Oklahoma), Jeremy Smith (Oklahoma State), B.J. Catalon (TCU) and Waymon James (TCU).

For the latest news on the Baylor football team follow its official Twitter account: @BUFootball.



Online Store