Skip to main content Skip to footer
Salubi Named to Doak Walker Award Watch List

Jarred Salubi rushed five times for 101 yards and two touchdowns in the Alamo Bowl win.

July 19, 2012

DALLAS - Baylor senior running back Jarred Salubi has been tabbed as one of 52 candidates on the 2012 Doak Walker Award preseason watch list, which was announced Thursday by the PwC SMU Athletic Forum.

The Doak Walker Award is presented annually to the nation's top college running back. The award, which is in its 23rd year, is named for SMU's three-time All-America running back Doak Walker. It is the only major collegiate award that requires all candidates to be in good academic standing and on schedule to graduate within one year of other students in the same classification.

A local product who attended Waco High School, Salubi is entering his fifth year at Baylor. He is tied for the team lead with 38 career games played, has made five starts and rushed for 844 yards on 137 career carries.

Salubi has also traveled twice to Kenya on mission trips with fellow Baylor student-athletes. He is listed No. 1 on the post-spring depth chart and is expected to replace departed All-American Terrance Ganaway as the team's primary rusher.

Salubi's biggest game in 2011 came in the Valero Alamo Bowl, when he rushed for two touchdowns and 101 yards on just five carries. He missed a third touchdown by one yard after being pushed out of bounds at the 1-yard-line after a 24-yard rush, and he added a 13-yard reception in the Bears' win.

Salubi finished his junior season averaging 5.7 yards per rush after accumulating 331 rushing yards and three touchdowns in 58 attempts. He also returned seven kickoffs for 135 yards and caught four passes for 46 yards.

Semifinalists for the Doak Walker Award will be named on Nov. 9, and the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee will cast votes to determine the finalists, who will be announced Nov. 19. The committee consists of former NFL All-Pro and college All-America running backs, media members and special representatives.

A second vote beginning on Nov. 26 will determine the award winner, which will be announced live on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Dec. 6 on ESPN. The Doak Walker Award Presentation Banquet will be held in Dallas in February.

The Doak Walker Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game's predominant awards.



Online Store