Skip to main content Skip to footer
Petty Named AFCA Good Works Team Nominee

Bryce Petty

July 25, 2013

WACO, Texas - Baylor junior quarterback Bryce Petty is one of 150 nominees for the 2013 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team, the American Football Coaches Association announced recently.

Since 1992, the award has recognized a select group of college football players who have made a commitment to enriching the lives of others while contributing to the greater good of their communities.

A native of Midlothian, Texas, Petty is going into his first season as the starting signal caller for BU's high-powered offense.

Petty has been active in the community by volunteering with the Big Brothers Big Sisters organization. He also traveled to Kenya for a two-week mission trip with Baylor's Sports Ministry group in 2011.

Petty graduated with a degree in health science studies in May of 2013. During his undergraduate years, he garnered Big 12 Commissioner's Honor Roll accolades four times, while being named to the 2012 Academic All-Big 12 first team in 2012.

On the field, Petty has played in 11 career games over the last two seasons completing 10-of-14 passes for 140 yards and one touchdown.

Petty is one of 66 nominees from a FBS school and one of only six from the Big 12 Conference.

Baylor's last player to be an AFCA Good Works Team nominee was Robert Griffin III in 2011. Griffin III went on to be named to the team in September of 2011.

From the nominees submitted by sports information directors across the nation on behalf of their schools, a special voting panel consisting of former Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® members and prominent college football media members will select the 2013 Good Works Team.® Comprised of 11 players from the NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision and 11 players from the NCAA Football Championship Subdivision, Divisions II, III, and the NAIA, the final roster of 22 award recipients will be unveiled in September.

Other Big 12 players on the list include: Will Clarke (West Virginia), Gabe Ikard (Oklahoma), Jackson Jeffcoat (Texas), Tyler Lockett (Kansas State) and Kirby Van Der Kamp (Iowa State).

For the latest news on the Baylor football team follow its official Twitter account: @BUFootball.



Online Store