Skip to main content Skip to footer
Oakman Named to Hendricks Award Watch List

Shawn Oakman
Aug. 5, 2014

CHICAGO - Baylor defensive end Shawn Oakman earned a spot on the 2014 Ted Hendricks Award watch list, the award's foundation announced recently. The Hendricks Award goes to college football's premier defensive end.

This is the fourth watch list honor for Oakman as he was selected for the Nagurski Trophy (defensive players), Bednarik Award (defensive players) and Lombardi Award (down lineman) in July.

Oakman, a junior, earned All-Big 12 accolades last season while serving as a reserve in all 13 games. He totaled 33 tackles (21 solo), 12.5 tackles-for-loss of 32 yards, two sacks (-10 yards), two QB hurries, two forced fumbles, one fumble recovery and one blocked kick on the season.

In total, there are 29 players on the Hendricks watch list, including four from the Big 12 Conference.

The Ted Hendricks Award is named in honor of college football's first three-time first team All-American. Hendricks' professional career spanned 15 years included four Super Bowl victories, eight Pro Bowl selections and inductions into the College and Pro Football Halls of Fame.

The Hendricks Award voting committee will cast two votes: one to narrow the list of candidates to 4-6 finalists, and one to choose the winner. The final Mid-Season Watch List will be announced in late November. The 2014 winner will be announced on December 10.

The initial list will be adjusted as the 2014 season progresses and will remain open to additions and subtractions until the selection committee casts its first vote in late November.

For the latest news on the Baylor football team follow its official Twitter account: @BUFootball.



Online Store