Skip to main content Skip to footer
Griffin on Maxwell Watch List

Aug. 14, 2009

SOUTHAMPTON, Pa. — Baylor sophomore quarterback Robert Griffin III is one of 55 student-athletes on the initial watch list for the 73rd Maxwell Award, announced Friday by Maxwell Football Club President Ron Jaworski. The Maxwell Award has been given annually to the nation’s top all-around player since 1937.

A 2008 Freshman All-America selection and the 2008 Big 12 Conference Freshman of the Year, Griffin is one of the nation’s top duel-threat quarterbacks. He passed for 2,091 yards and 15 touchdowns with only three interceptions last season; he also rushed for 843 yards and 13 scores as a freshman. Along the way, Griffin established an NCAA Bowl Subdivision record for consecutive pass attempts without an interception to start a career (209).

Griffin is one of 12 players from the Big 12 on the list, joining Sam Bradford (QB, Oklahoma), Dezmon Briscoe (WR, Kansas), Chris Brown (RB, Oklahoma), Dez Bryant (WR, Oklahoma State), Jermaine Gresham (TE, Oklahoma), Kendall Hunter (RB, Oklahoma State), Colt McCoy (QB, Texas), DeMarco Murray (RB, Oklahoma), Todd Reesing (QB, Kansas), Zac Robinson (QB, Oklahoma State) and Jordan Shipley (WR, Texas).

A product of Copperas Cove [Texas] High School, Griffin also is one of only 10 sophomores on the list. He joins Ryan Mallett (Arkansas), Kellen Moore (Boise State), Terrelle Pryor (Ohio State) and Russell Wilson (North Carolina State) as the only sophomore quarterbacks on the list.

Griffin also is on the O’Brien Award watch list; he was named preseason All-Big 12 by Phil Steele’s and was named the Big 12’s “Best Athlete” by The Sporting News.

Semifinalists for the Maxwell Award will be announced Nov. 4 with three finalists unveiled Nov. 23. The 2009 Maxwell Award winner will be announced Dec. 10 as part of the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show in Lake Buena Vista, Fla.



Online Store