Skip to main content Skip to footer
More National Award Lists for Pawelek & Walton

Aug. 18, 2009

Baylor senior Joe Pawelek was included on two additional national award watch lists released Tuesday, and was joined on the Rotary Lombardi Award list by teammate and fellow senior J.D. Walton. Pawelek was also named to the Bronko Nagurski Trophy watch list.

The teammates are both among the 153 players listed for consideration for the Lombardi Award, which is handed out to the top collegiate lineman. Pawelek is listed on the 62-man Nagurski Trophy awarded annually to the nation's best defensive player.

A returning and preseason All-American as well as a 2008 Academic All-American, Pawelek is the nation's leading active career tackler with 313 tackles heading into the 2009 season. Pawelek ranked seventh nationally in tackles last season (10.7 tackles per game) and seventh in interceptions (0.5 interceptions per game) - the only player ranked in the top 10 of both categories.

Pawelek has previously been named to 2009 watch lists for the Chuck Bednarik Award and Ronnie Lott Trophy. The 6-2, 240-pound senior from San Antonio totaled 128 tackles and six interceptions in 2008 and has started 34 of 36 career games and with 313 career tackles is three shy of entering Baylor's all-time top 10 listing.

Walton, a 2008 All-Big 12 center, has started every game of his career, 24 straight starts since transferring from Arizona State in 2006. He anchored an offensive line that generated 2,349 rushing yards, the most at Baylor since 1981, as well as 29 rushing touchdowns.

The senior from Allen, Texas, has been named previously to 2009 watch lists for the Outland and Rimington Trophies.

The Rotary Lombardi Award is presented annually by Houston's Rotary Club to the nation's top college football lineman -- offense or defense -- who, in addition to outstanding performance and ability, best exemplifies the discipline of Vince Lombardi.



The Watch List was formed by using 2008 postseason and 2009 preseason all-conference and All-America teams. On Oct. 14, the 12 semifinalists for the 40th annual Rotary Lombardi Award will be announced. On Nov. 11, the four finalists will be named. A ceremony to announce the winner will be held on Dec. 9 in Houston. Net proceeds from the event benefit the American Cancer Society.

The Rotary Club of Houston founded the Rotary Lombardi Award in 1970, in the weeks following the death of legendary football coach Vince Lombardi from cancer.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy is awarded annually to the nation's best defensive player by the FWAA and the Charlotte Touchdown Club. The trophy has been presented since 1993 and is awarded in memory of the legendary Nagurski, an All-America lineman at Minnesota in 1927-29 and a star for professional football's Chicago Bears in the 1930s.


Bronko Nagurski Trophy
Joe Pawelek

Chuck Bednarik Award
Joe Pawelek

Davey O'Brien Award
Robert Griffin III

Jim Thorpe Award
Jordan Lake

Manning Award
Robert Griffin III

Maxwell Award
Robert Griffin III

Outland Trophy
J.D. Walton

Ray Guy Award
Derek Epperson

Rimington Trophy
J.D. Walton

Ronnie Lott Trophy
Joe Pawelek

Rotary Lombardi Award
Joe Pawelek
J.D. Walton

Online Store