Skip to main content Skip to footer
Football Places Three On Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award Watch List

Antwan Goodley
Aug. 20, 2014

TYLER, Texas - Baylor football players Antwan Goodley, Shock Linwood and Bryce Petty earned a spot on the 2014 Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award watch list, which was announced Wednesday at the Tyler Area Chamber of Commerce East Texas Kickoff Luncheon.

Goodley, who was a semifinalist for the honor a season ago, is also on watch lists for the Biletnikoff and Maxwell awards. He had a breakout season in 2013 with 71 catches for 1,339 yards and 13 touchdowns. He has already earned preseason All-America honors from six outlets and is a consensus first-team All-Big 12 selection. Goodley enters 2014 having started 14 straight games and caught a pass in 17 consecutive contests.

Linwood earns his third watch list honor of the preseason, after nabbing a spot on the Doak Walker Award and Maxwell Award watch lists. He racked up a BU freshman-record 881 yards on 128 carries with eight TDs in 2013. The speedster from Linden, Texas, has been a consensus preseason All-Big 12 selection.

Petty, who won the award in its inaugural year last season, is also on watch lists for the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award, the Manning Award, the Maxwell Award and the Walter Camp Player of the Year. On the field in 2013, the Midlothian, Texas, product led the Big 12 in passing yards (4,200, fourth nationally), total offense (339.2 yards/game, eighth nationally), passing touchdowns (32, 11th nationally), and rushing touchdowns (14, 19th nationally). He was named the  preseason Big 12 Offensive Player of the Year, while getting preseason All-American nods from the Sporting News and Phil Steele.

There are 43 players on the watch list including 17 wide receivers, 12 running backs and eight quarterbacks.

The Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award recognizes the top offensive player in Division 1 football who also exhibits the enduring characteristics that define Earl Campbell: integrity, performance, teamwork, sportsmanship, drive, community and tenacity; specifically tenacity to persist and determination to overcome adversity and injury in pursuit of reaching goals. In addition, the nominee must meet one or more of the following criteria: born in Texas and/or graduated from a Texas High School and/or played at a Texas-based junior college or four year college. 

The watch list will be narrowed to up to 16 semifinalists in November and then up to four finalists in December. They will be selected by broadcasters, commentators, journalists, fans and the previous winner. The finalists will be brought to Tyler for The Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Awards Banquet scheduled for January 14, 2015.

The award is named for Earl Campbell, who graduated from John Tyler High School in Tyler before going on to win the Heisman Trophy at Texas. He earned NFL Rookie of the Year honors in 1978 and went on to lead the NFL in rushing three times. Campbell earned NFL MVP honors in 1979 and was elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1991.

For the latest news on the Baylor football team follow its official Twitter account: @BUFootball.



Online Store