Skip to main content Skip to footer
Heisman Winner, Hall of Famers Headline All-FCS Team

Aug 26, 2013

 Complete All-Floyd Casey Stadium Team

WACO, Texas - With 2011 Heisman Trophy winner Robert Griffin III leading the way, Baylor football's All-Floyd Casey Stadium team includes 22 All-Americans and players from every decade in the rich 63-year history of the stadium.

The 25-man star-studded cast also includes five College Football Hall of Famers - linebacker Mike Singletary (1977-80), defensive back Thomas Everett (1983-86), wide receiver Lawrence Elkins (1962-64) and linemen Jim Ray Smith (1952-54) and Bill Glass (1954-56).

Additionally, 16 of the 25 are already inducted into the Baylor Hall of Fame, and the other nine (including RG3) aren't eligible yet.

Griffin III headlines a group of the more recent players that includes All-American receivers Kendall Wright (2008-11) and Terrance Williams (2009-12), running back Terrance Ganaway (2009-11), offensive linemen Jason Smith (2005-08) and J.D. Walton (2007-09) and linebacker Joe Pawelek (2006-09) and senior kicker Aaron Jones (2010-13), the only All-FCS selection that is still playing at Baylor.

The record-setting quarterback passed for 4,293 yards and 37 touchdowns en route to winning the school's first Heisman Trophy two years ago and finished his career with 10,366 yards and 78 TDs passing and another 2,254 yards and 33 scores on the ground. Wright is the all-time leading in career receptions (302), receiving yards (4,004) and touchdowns (30), while Williams set the school record and led the nation last season with 1,832 yards receiving and 140.9 yards per game. Ganaway broke the single-season rushing record with 1,547 yards in 2011 and was the Alamo Bowl MVP.

Joining Ganaway and RG3 in the backfield is Walter Abercrombie, who still holds the school record with 3,665 career yards rushing. Elkins, a two-time All-American, rounds out the talented receiving corps, while Gerald "Ice Cub" McNeil makes it as the team's kick returner.

The offensive line includes two College Football Hall of Famers - Jim Ray Smith and Bill Glass - along with Jason Smith, J.D. Walton and Mark Adickes (1979-83).

In the defensive line are All-Americans Santana Dotson (1988-91) and Roger Goree (1970-72), along with Charles Benson (1979-82) and Ervin Randle (1981-84).

Singletary heads up a linebacker corps that includes All-Americans James Francis (1986-89) and Joe Pawelek (2006-09). The school's all-time leader with a mind-boggling 662 career tackles, Singletary has been inducted into the Baylor, College Football, NFL and Texas Sports Hall of Fame.

Everett, the inaugural winner of the Jim Thorpe Award that honors the nation's top defensive back, heads up a secondary that includes All-Americans Gary Green (1973-76), Vann McElroy (1978-81) and Robert Blackmon (1986-89).

In addition to McNeil, the specialists are Jones at kicker and two-time Ray Guy Award winner Daniel Sepulveda at kicker. Jones already holds 16 school records and shattered the all-time scoring record with 327 points, while Sepulveda set the school single-season record with a 46.2-yard average in 2005 and holds the NCAA record with 94 kicks of 50-plus yards.

For the 64th and final year at Floyd Casey Stadium, players from each decade - starting with the 2000s for Saturday's game against Wofford - will be honored at six of the home games. And the All-FCS team will be recognized and honored for the Nov. 7 nationally televised game against Oklahoma.

To purchase single-game or season tickets, contact the Baylor Athletic ticket office at 254-710-1000 or go online at



Online Store