Skip to main content Skip to footer
Grant Teaff To Receive Stagg Award

Sept. 21, 2005

American Football Coaches Association Executive Director Grant Teaff has been selected as the 2006 recipient of the AFCA's Amos Alonzo Stagg Award. It marks the second straight year an individual with Baylor ties has been honored with this award, as Hayden Fry received the 2005 honor.

The award, which honors those "whose services have been outstanding in the advancement of the best interests of football," will be presented to Teaff at the ADT Awards Luncheon on January 10 during the 2006 AFCA Convention in Dallas.

"I'm overwhelmed by the award and the reason is that I understand the impact it has had on the recipients," Teaff said. "When he received the Stagg Award, Joe Paterno told me it was the greatest award he had received as a coach.

"This is the highest of compliments because the Stagg Award is named after one of the greatest coaches and contributors in the history of our game."

A member of the AFCA Board of Trustees from January 1987 until his retirement from coaching following the 1992 season, Teaff has been an active contributor since he joined the Association in 1959. He served 11 years -- from 1982 through 1992 -- as chairman of the AFCA Ethics Committee.

Following two years as director of athletics at Baylor, Teaff was tabbed to head the AFCA in 1994. In 11 years as executive director of the Association, Teaff has become one of the most effective administrators in intercollegiate athletics. In 2002, The Sporting News ranked Teaff as one of the most powerful administrators of college athletics. In December 2004, Teaff was named one of the most influential people in college sports by Street & Smith's Sports Business Journal.

Teaff has been heavily involved in the administrative side of intercollegiate athletics. His committee appointments have included serving as a member of the NCAA Gender Equity Task Force (1992-93) and the NCAA Football Rules Committee (1982-88). He is currently serving on the NCAA Committee on Sportsmanship and Ethical Conduct and is an ad-hoc member of the NCAA Football Issues Committee.

Teaff was the head coach at Baylor University (1972-1992), Angelo State University (1969-1971) and McMurry College (1960-1965), posting a career record of 170-151-8 (.529) in 30 seasons. But he is best known for his success at Baylor, where he led the Bears to a pair of Southwest Conference titles and eight bowl appearances. Teaff is already enshrined in the Halls of Fame at all three schools. In 2001, he was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame. He is also enshrined in the Southwest Conference Hall of Honor and the Texas Sports Hall of Fame.

Teaff was named the Southwest Conference Coach of the Year six times and earned AFCA National Coach of the Year honors in 1974 when he produced "The Miracle on the Brazos." That year, he led Baylor to its first SWC title in 50 years and its first appearance in the Cotton Bowl.

Teaff-coached Baylor teams appeared in eight bowls. Among his most impressive teams are Baylor's two SWC champions, the 1974 (8-4) and 1980 (10-2) Cotton Bowl teams. His 1985 and 1986 teams had identical 9-3 records and won the Liberty Bowl and the Bluebonnet Bowl.

Teaff did more than tutor his players well, he saw 11 of his former assistant coaches go on to head coaching positions at the college level.

Teaff coached in 12 all-star games while at Baylor: East-West Shrine (3); Blue-Gray (3); Hula Bowl (4); AFCA Coaches' All-America Game (1) and Japan Bowl (1).

Teaff has also been active in the Fellowship of Christian Athletes and has served two terms as a member of the FCA Board of Trustees, including a two-year term as the Chairman of the Board of that organization.

Teaff began his coaching career in 1956 as an assistant at Lubbock (Tex.) High School. He moved to McMurry as an assistant football coach and head track coach in 1957 and became head football coach in 1960, while continuing to coach track. He was an assistant coach at Texas Tech from 1966-1968 before being named the head coach at Angelo State in 1971.

Raised in the West Texas town of Snyder, Teaff graduated from Snyder High School in 1951. After two years at San Angelo (Tex.) Junior College, he earned his undergraduate degree in physical education at McMurry in 1956 and one year later earned his M.S. in Administrative Education. He received a Doctor of Humanities degree from McMurry in 1975.

A team captain at all levels, Teaff lettered every year he was at San Angelo and McMurry. He was an All-Texas Conference linebacker at McMurry.

Teaff and his wife, Donell, a former Texas Tech cheerleader, have three daughters, Tammy Bookbinder, Layne Pittman and Tracy Teaff, all Baylor graduates; and four grandchildren, Joshua and Jessica Bookbinder, Jake Grant and Elijah John Pittman.

The Award

The Amos Alonzo Stagg Award is given to the "individual, group or institution whose services have been outstanding in the advancement of the best interests of football." Its purpose is "to perpetuate the example and influence of Amos Alonzo Stagg."

The award is named in honor of a man who was instrumental in founding the AFCA in the 1920s. He is considered one of the great innovators and motivating forces in the early development of the game of football. The plaque given to each recipient is a replica of the one given to Stagg at the 1939 AFCA Convention in tribute to his 50 years of service to football.

Amos Alonzo Stagg

Amos Alonzo Stagg began his coaching career at the School of Christian Workers, now Springfield (Mass.) College, after graduating from Yale University in 1888.

Stagg also served as head coach at Chicago (1892-1932) and College of the Pacific (1933-1946). His 41 seasons at Chicago is one of the longest head coaching tenures in the history of the college game.

Among the innovations credited to Stagg are the tackling dummy, the huddle, the reverse play, man in motion, knit pants, numbering plays and players, and the awarding of letters.

A long-time AFCA member, Stagg was the Association's 1943 Coach of the Year.

According to NCAA records, Stagg's 57-year record as a college head coach is 314-199-35. He was 84 years old when he ended his coaching career at Pacific in 1946. He died in 1965 at the age of 103.



Online Store