Skip to main content Skip to footer
Florence Named Campbell Trophy Semifinalist

Nick Florence was also added to the Maxwell Award watch list on Thursday.

Sept. 27, 2012

DALLAS - Baylor senior quarterback Nick Florence has been selected as one of 147 semifinalists for the William V. Campbell Trophy, The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame announced Thursday.

Florence is one of 50 semifinalists representing the Football Bowl Subdivision and one of five from the Big 12 Conference. He's the first Baylor semifinalist since Derek Epperson in 2010. Former Bear Joe Pawelek was honored as a finalist in 2009, earning Baylor's first post-graduate scholarship from the NFF since Don Trull in 1963.

The Campbell Trophy is in its 23rd year honoring college football's top scholar-athlete. Candidates must be seniors or graduate students in their final years of eligibility, have a GPA of at least 3.2, have outstanding football ability as a first team player or significant contributor, and have demonstrated strong leadership and citizenship. The class is selected each year by the NFF Awards Committee, which is comprised of a nationally recognized group of media, College Football Hall of Famers and athletics administrators.

The NFF Awards Committee will announce up to 16 finalists Oct. 25. Each finalist will be recognized as part of the 2012 NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class, receiving an $18,000 post-graduate scholarship. Each member of the NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class will travel to New York City to be honored at the 55th NFF Annual Awards Dinner Dec. 4 at the Waldorf Astoria, and the winner of the Campbell Trophy will be announced at the dinner.

Florence has led Baylor to a 3-0 start by completing 64.5 percent of his passes for 1,004 yards and 11 touchdowns. He leads the nation in total offense, averaging 387.7 yards per game, and he ranks second in the Big 12 with 334.7 passing yards per game.

The senior from Garland, Texas, has passed for more than 300 yards and at least three touchdowns in each of the Bears' first three games this season. He set career highs with four TD passes against both SMU and Louisiana-Monroe.

Named in honor of Bill Campbell, the chairman of Intuit, former player and head coach at Columbia University and the 2004 recipient of the NFF's Gold Medal, the award comes with a 25-pound bronze trophy and increases the amount of the recipient's grant by $7,000 for a total post-graduate scholarship of $25,000. A total distribution of $300,000 in scholarships will be awarded at the NFF Annual Awards Dinner, pushing the program's all-time distributions to more than $10.1 million.

Semifinalists Representing Football Bowl Subdivision
Alabama -- Barrett Jones
Arkansas -- Dylan Breeding
Army -- Zach Watts
Auburn -- Ashton Richardson
Ball State -- Scott Kovanda
Baylor -- Nick Florence
Brigham Young -- Riley Nelson
California -- Matt Summers-Gavin
Central Florida -- Lyle Dankenbring
Clemson -- Dalton Freeman
Colorado -- Dustin Ebner
Duke -- Sean Renfree
Eastern Michigan -- Alex Gillett
Florida -- Caleb Sturgis
Florida State -- Dustin Hopkins
Georgia -- Ty Frix
Indiana -- Adam Replogle
Iowa -- James Vandenberg
Iowa State -- Carter Bykowski
Kentucky -- Matt Smith
Louisiana Tech -- Matt Nelson
Mississippi -- Tyler Campbell
Missouri -- T.J. Moe
Navy -- Keegan Wetzel
Nebraska -- Rex Burkhead
North Carolina -- Pete Mangum
North Carolina State -- McKay Frandsen
Northern Illinois -- Nabal Jefferson
Northwestern -- Patrick Ward
Notre Dame -- Manti Te'o
Ohio -- Matt Weller
Ohio State -- Ben Buchanan
Penn State -- Pete Massaro
Purdue -- Robert Maci
Rutgers -- Duron Harmon
San Jose State -- Travis Johnson
South Carolina -- Seth Strickland
South Florida -- Evan Landi
Southern California -- Matt Barkley
Syracuse -- Ryan Nassib
Texas -- Marquise Goodwin
Texas Tech -- Cody Davis
Toledo -- Dan Molls
UCLA -- Jeff Locke
Utah -- Sean Sellwood
Virginia Tech -- Joey Phillips
West Virginia -- Jeff Braun
Western Michigan -- Chris Prom
Wisconsin -- Shelton Johnson
Wyoming -- Luke Ruff



Online Store