Skip to main content Skip to footer
Epperson Named Semi-Finalist for Campbell Trophy

Sept. 30, 2010

DALLAS, Texas – Baylor senior punter Derek Epperson has been selected as one of 115 semi-finalists for the William V. Campbell Trophy, The National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame announced Thursday.

Epperson, a native of Southlake, Texas, is one of 47 semi-finalists representing the Football Bowl Subdivision and one of only six from the Big 12 Conference.

The Campbell Trophy is in its 21st year honoring college football’s top scholar-athlete. Candidates must be seniors or graduate students in their final years of eligibility, have a GPA of at least 3.2, have outstanding football ability, and have demonstrated strong leadership and citizenship.

The NFF Awards Committee will announce up to 15 finalists Oct. 28. Each finalist will be recognized as part of the 2010 NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class, receiving an $18,000 post-graduate scholarship. The winner will be announced at the NFF’s Annual Awards Dinner Dec. 7 at the Waldorf Astoria in New York City.

Linebacker Joe Pawelek was honored as a finalist for the Campbell Trophy (considered by many to be the “Academic Heisman”) in 2009. It was the first time a Baylor student-athlete earned a post-graduate scholarship from the NFF since Don Trull became the first in 1963.

Epperson is one of six graduates on the 2010 Baylor roster. Through the first four games of the 2010 season, he ranks fourth in the Big 12 and 18th nationally with a punting average of 44.8 yards. His career punting average of 42.7 ranks third all-time at Baylor.

A two-time All-Big 12 selection and a 2007 honorable mention Freshman All-American, Epperson is on the Ray Guy Award watch list for the third consecutive season. He was a semi-finalist for the award in 2008. Epperson graduated in August with a 3.62 GPA and a double major in MIS and Management.



Online Store