Skip to main content Skip to footer
Najvar Named Campbell Trophy Semifinalist

Jordan Najvar

Oct. 2, 2013

DALLAS - Baylor senior tight end Jordan Najvar has been named one of 170 semifinalists for the William V. Campbell Trophy, The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame announced Wednesday.

Najvar has a chance to become one of 16 finalists for the award, who will receive an $18,000 postgraduate scholarship. Three other Bears have been named finalists in past years, including quarterback Nick Florence last season, Joe Pawelek (2009) and Don Trull (1963). The Campbell Trophy is in its 24th year honoring college football's top scholar-athlete.

Najvar graduated in May with a degree in distribution management technology. During his time as an undergraduate, he held a GPA of 3.33. On the field, Najvar has caught two passes for 23 yards this season. In his career, the Spring, Texas, native has caught 27 passes for 249 yards and four touchdowns. Najvar earned a spot on the Mackey Award watch list prior to the season.

Nominated by their schools, which are limited to one nominee each, semifinalists must be a senior or graduate student in their final year of eligibility, have a GPA of at least 3.2 on a 4.0 scale, have outstanding football ability as a first team player or significant contributor, and have demonstrated strong leadership and citizenship. The class is selected each year by the NFF Awards Committee, which is comprised of a nationally recognized group of media, College Football Hall of Famers and athletics administrators.

Finalists will be announced on Oct. 31. Each member of the 2013 National Scholar-Athlete Class will also travel to New York City to be honored Dec. 10 during the 56th NFF Annual Awards Dinner at the Waldorf Astoria where their accomplishments will be highlighted in front of one of the most powerful audiences in all of sports. One member of the class will also be announced live at the event as the winner of the William V. Campbell Trophy.

Named in honor of Bill Campbell, the chairman of Intuit, former player and head coach at Columbia University and the 2004 recipient of the NFF's Gold Medal, the award comes with a 25-pound bronze trophy and increases the amount of the recipient's grant by $7,000 for a total post-graduate scholarship of $25,000. A total distribution of $300,000 in scholarships will be awarded at the NFF Annual Awards Dinner, pushing the program's all-time distributions to more than $10.4 million.

Launched in 1959, the NFF scholar-athlete program became the first initiative in history to award post-graduate scholarships based on both a player's academic and athletic accomplishments. The William V. Campbell Trophy, first awarded in 1990, adds to the program's mystique, having previously honored two Rhodes Scholars, a Rhodes Scholar finalist, two Heisman Trophy winners and five first-round NFL draft picks.

Baylor returns to action Saturday at 7 p.m. CT when it hosts West Virginia in its Big 12 Conference opener. The game will be televised live nationally on FS1.

For the latest information on the Baylor football team, follow the team on Twitter: @BUFootball.



Online Store