Skip to main content Skip to footer
Petty Added To Maxwell Award Watch List

Bryce Petty

Oct. 9, 2013

PHILADELPHIA - Baylor junior quarterback Bryce Petty was the only Big 12 Conference player and one of only 12 players nationally added to the watch list for the 77th Maxwell Award, the Maxwell Football Club announced on Wednesday.

To open 2013, Petty has produced FBS-leading numbers for passing efficiency (229.6) and passing yards per completion (20.1). He has amassed 1,348 yards through the air by completing 67 of 92 passes with 10 touchdowns. Petty's 337.0 passing yards per game and completion percentage of 72.8 lead the Big 12. He also has 14 carries for 60 yards and three touchdowns on the ground.

The offense that Petty directs currently leads the country in scoring (70.5 ppg.), total offense (779.3 ypg.) and passing (432.3 ypg.).

With Petty and the starting offense on the field, the Bears have had 36 drives that have resulted in 31 scores (30 touchdowns and one field goal).

He has led Baylor to its first 4-0 start since 1991 and a No. 15 ranking in both the AP Top 25 and the USA Today Coaches Poll.

The Maxwell Award has been presented to the outstanding collegiate football player in America since 1937 and is named in honor of Robert W. "Tiny" Maxwell.

Petty, a native of Midlothian, Texas, joins teammate Lache Seastrunk, who was on the award's original watch list that was released in July, as candidates.

This year Seastrunk is off to a fast start as well. The junior running back from Temple, Texas, is averaging 11.1 yards per carry. He has totaled 589 yards on 53 attempts, while scoring eight touchdowns. He ranks first in the Big 12 and second nationally with 147.2 yards per game on the ground.

The Bears have had one player on the award's watch list for the last three seasons, but now BU has a pair of candidates up for the honor. Robert Griffin III made the list in 2011 and Terrance Williams earned the distinction last season. RG3 was a semifinalist for the award in both 2010 and 2011.

Semifinalists for the Maxwell Award will be announced Oct. 29, while three finalists will be unveiled Nov. 25. The winners of the 2013 Maxwell Award will be announced as part of the Home Depot College Football Awards Show held on Dec. 12. The formal presentations of the awards will be made at the Maxwell Football Club Awards Gala hosted by Harrah's Entertainment Atlantic City on March 7.

The watch list candidates have been chosen by the Maxwell Football Club's selection committee, which analyzes both past performance and future potential. The Club reserves the right to make additions and deletions to these lists as the 2013 season unfolds. All members of the Maxwell Football Club, NCAA sports information directors, FBS head coaches and selected national media are eligible to vote for the awards.

Other Big 12 players on the original list included: David Ash (Texas), Blake Bell (Oklahoma), John Hubert (Kansas State), Casey Pachall (TCU) and Charles Sims (West Virginia).

Baylor will be back in action on Saturday at 2:30 p.m. in its first road game of the year. The Bears travel to Manhattan, Kan., to face Kansas State. That game will be broadcast on FOX.

For the latest news on the Baylor football team follow its official Twitter account: @BUFootball.



Online Store