Skip to main content Skip to footer
Eight Bears Named Midseason All-Big 12

Oct. 16, 2009

Complete Phil Steele Midseason Awards Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

CLEVELAND, Ohio - Defensive tackle Phil Taylor, linebacker Joe Pawelek and safety Jordan Lake headline the eight Baylor Bears included on Phil Steele's 2009 Midseason All-Big 12 Team released Friday.

Taylor, Pawelek and Lake all garnered first-team Midseason All-Big 12 honors. Taylor and Pawelek also were named to Steele's Midseason All-America second team. Sophomore inside receiver Kendall Wright, senior center J.D. Walton, senior defensive lineman Jason Lamb, senior linebacker Antonio Jones and junior punter Derek Epperson were named to the third team.

Pawelek and Jones lead the team with 46 total tackles. Lamb has recorded a team-best five tackles for loss and two blocked kicks, which he shares with Taylor. Lake ranks fourth on the team with 33 total tackles, including 21 unassisted stops. Epperson currently ranks third among NCAA Division I FBS punters with an average of 47.43 yards per punt.



Online Store