Skip to main content Skip to footer
Lackey Nabs Big 12 Defensive Player of the Week Award

Eddie Lackey

Oct. 21, 2013

IRVING, Texas - Baylor senior linebacker Eddie Lackey was named the Big 12 Defensive Player of the Week for his eight-tackle performance in Saturday's 71-7 win over Iowa State, the Big 12 Conference announced Monday.

The Murrieta, Calif., becomes Baylor's first three-time defensive honoree, after also being recognized twice in 2012. 

In the win over the Cyclones, Lackey helped the Baylor defense allow only 174 yards. That total is the fewest yards the Bears have given up in a game since 2001 and the fewest in a conference game since 1990.

Besides leading BU with eight total stops, Lackey also had a team-high five solo tackles. He produced one sack and 1.5 tackles for loss, which resulted in 12 yards of losses for ISU.

Lackey also added a fumble recovery to his all-around performance. In the first quarter, he scooped up a loose ball to setup Baylor's second scoring drive from ISU's 29-yard line.

Lackey is BU's third Big 12 weekly award winner of the season, after Terrell Burt was honored for defense on Sept. 23 and Lache Seastrunk won the league's offensive weekly honor on Oct. 7. The Bears have now had at least two Big 12 Defensive Player of the Week honorees in each of the last four seasons. In total, Baylor has had 12 defensive players honored a combined 16 times since 2001.

Baylor is off to a 6-0 start to the season for the first time since 1980 and a 3-0 league start for the first time since 1985. The Bears are ranked No. 5 in the USA Today Coaches Poll and No. 6 in the AP Top 25. That AP ranking is Baylor's highest since 1980 when the Bears were also No. 6. Baylor debuted at No. 8 in the first edition of the BCS standings released on Sunday.


Baylor will now play its second road game of the year on Saturday as the Bears face the Kansas Jayhawks in Lawrence, Kan. That game will be televised at 6 p.m. by ESPNU.

To stay current on all things Baylor Football, follow the team on Twitter: @BUFootball.

2001 - Samir Al-Amin, FS (Nov. 24)
2004 - Willie Andrews, RS (Sept. 27)
2005 - Colin Allred, LB (Nov. 21)
2006 - Dwain Crawford, CB (Oct. 2)
2007 - Jordan Lake, FS (Sept. 24)
2008 - Joe Pawelek, LB (Nov. 17)
2009 - Joe Pawelek, LB (Sept. 8)
2010 - Byron Landor, S (Oct. 18)
2010 - Byron Landor, S (Nov. 1)
2011 - Elliot Coffey, LB (Nov. 14)
2011 - Sam Holl, S (Dec. 5)
2012 - Joe Williams, CB (Nov. 19)
2012 - Eddie Lackey, LB (Nov. 26)
2012 - Eddie Lackey, LB (Dec. 3)
2013 - Terrell Burt, S (Sept. 23)
2013 - Eddie Lackey, LB (Oct. 21)



Online Store