RG3 Named O'Brien Award Semifinalist

RG3 leads the nation in completion percentage and passing efficiency.

Oct. 24, 2011

Fort Worth, Texas -Baylor junior quarterback Robert Griffin III has been selected as one of 16 semifinalists for the 2011 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award, as announced by the award's foundation Monday.

The Davey O'Brien Award is presented annually to the top nation's best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. Griffin III is one of only seven players to be among the semifinalists in 2010 and 2011.

Semifinalists were chosen by the O'Brien National Selection Committee, with the fan vote accounting for 5 percent of the total vote. The committee was asked to consider quarterback skills, academics, character, leadership and sportsmanship.

RG3 finished third in the fan vote, garnering 8 percent of the votes with 9,551. He trailed only Kellen Moore of Boise State and Case Keenum of Houston. The vote counts have been reset with the field narrowed to 16 semifinalists. Three finalists for the award will be announced on Nov. 21, and the winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards airing Dec. 8, on ESPN.

RG3 is one of five Big 12 quarterbacks to make the cut from 120 quarterbacks. He's joined by Oklahoma's Landry Jones, Oklahoma State's Brandon Weeden, Texas Tech's Seth Doege and Texas A&M's Ryan Tannehill.

A native of Copperas Cove, Texas, Griffin III has completed 142 of 182 passes for 1,950 yards, 22 touchdowns with only two interceptions. He leads the nation in completion percentage (78.0), points responsibility (24.0) and passing efficiency (205.71). Griffin III ranks third nationally in total offense (374.17), tied for fourth in passing touchdowns (22) and seventh in passing yards per game (325.0).

RG3 earned his 44th school record, setting the single-game mark for passing yards with 430 yards, on Oct. 15 at Texas A&M. He also ranks 10th in school history with 1,850 career rushing yards.

The former All-American track hurdler received his undergraduate degree in political science in December and is currently enrolled in graduate school.

The Bears return to action Saturday at 2:30 p.m. CT when they take on Oklahoma State at Boone Pickens Stadium in Stillwater, Okla. The game will be televised live nationally on ABC and ESPN2. Baylor's next home game is Nov. 5, when the Bears host Missouri for the 102nd anniversary of Baylor's first Homecoming game. That kick will kick off at 6 p.m. and be televised nationally on FSN.

For more information on RG3, visit www.bu-RG3.com, www.facebook.com/RG3forHeisman or follow @RG3forHeisman on Twitter.

2011 Davey O'Brien Award Semifinalists:
Matt Barkley, USC
Tajh Boyd, Clemson
Kirk Cousins, Michigan State
Seth Doege, Texas Tech
Robert Griffin III, Baylor
Landry Jones, Oklahoma
Case Keenum, Houston
Andrew Luck, Stanford
Kellen Moore, Boise State
Keith Price, Washington
Denard Robinson, Michigan
Ryan Tannehill, Texas A&M
Darron Thomas, Oregon
Brandon Weeden, Oklahoma State
Russell Wilson, Wisconsin
Tyler Wilson, Arkansas



Online Store