Skip to main content Skip to footer
RG3 Named O'Brien Award Semifinalist

Oct. 25, 2010

FORT WORTH, Texas – Baylor sophomore quarterback Robert Griffin III has been named a semifinalist for the 2010 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award, as announced by the Davey O’Brien Foundation Monday.

RG3 leads the Big 12 in total offense (344.6/game), passing yards (2,373) and passing efficiency (159.53). Nationally, Griffin III ranks second in passing yards, third in total offense and 14th in passing efficiency.

In Saturday’s 47-42 win over Kansas State that made Baylor (6-2, 3-1 Big 12) bowl-eligible for the first time since 1995, RG3 established new career highs with 404 yards and four touchdowns through the air. That performance came on the heels of a season-high 137 rushing yards and 234 passing yards in a win at Colorado. RG3 also set the Baylor record for single-game total offense with 444 yards in a win over Kansas Oct. 2.

Griffin III, a native of Copperas Cove, Texas, is among four Big 12 quarterbacks named in the list of 16 semifinalists. RG3 is joined by Landry Jones (Oklahoma), Blaine Gabbert (Missouri) and Taylor Martinez (Nebraska).

The semifinalist list features one freshman, five sophomores, seven juniors and three seniors. The Big 12 and Big Ten lead all conferences with four candidates.

The O’Brien National Selection Committe narrowed down the list from 120 quarterbacks representing every team in the NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision. Fan voting counted for five percent of the total, and with 9,320 votes, RG3 finished third behind Cam Newton (Auburn) and Kellen Moore (Boise State) in the opening round. Fan Vote numbers will be reset when voting resumes with the 16 semifinalists Monday afternoon.

The three finalists will be selected on Nov. 22, and the 2010 winner will be announced on The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show on Dec. 9. The 34th Annual O’Brien Awards Dinner will be held Feb. 21 at The Fort Worth Club in Fort Worth, Texas.

2010 O’Brien Semifinalists
Matt Barkley (USC)
Kirk Cousins (Michigan State)
Andy Dalton (TCU)
Blaine Gabbert (Missouri)
Robert Griffin III (Baylor)
Landry Jones (Oklahoma)
Colin Kaepernick (Nevada)
Andrew Luck (Stanford)
Ryan Mallett (Arkansas)
Taylor Martinez (Nebraska)
Kellen Moore (Boise State)
Cam Newton (Auburn)
Terrelle Pryor (Ohio State)
Denard Robinson (Michigan)
Ricky Stanzi (Iowa)
Darron Thomas (Oregon)



Online Store