Skip to main content Skip to footer
Jones Named Groza Award Semi-finalist

Oct. 29, 2010

WEST PALM BEACH, Fla. - Baylor football's Aaron Jones has been named one of 20 semi-finalists for the 2010 Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award presented by the Discover Orange Bowl, as announced by the Palm Beach County Sports Commission Friday.

Jones, a redshirt freshman who walked onto the team prior to the 2009 season, has made 16 of 20 field goals through the first eight games of the 2010 season. His 16 field goals made are tied with Danny Hrapman (Southern Miss) for the most among the 20 semi-finalists.

A native of Crowley, Texas, "Stork" has made 13 of 15 field goals from 30-plus yards. Four of Jones' made field goals came as time expired in the first half, including a pair from 50 yards out. He's also a perfect 31-for-31 on extra-point attempts, and his 79 points are second to only Dan Bailey (Oklahoma State) for most among the semi-finalists.

Jones has made at least one field goal in all eight games of his career, and his average of 2.00 field goals per game is tied for third nationally. His 50-yard field goal against Kansas was the 16th time in program history a field goal has been made from 50-plus yards and the longest by a Baylor player since Adam Stiles made a kick from the same distance in 2001.

Two weeks later, Jones became just the fifth player in program history to make multiple kicks from 50 or more yards when he booted one from 50 yards as time expired in the first half in the Bears' come-from-behind win at Colorado.

Jones is the lone freshman among the 20 semi-finalists and is one of four place kickers from the Big 12 Conference, joining Bailey, Alex Henery (Nebraska) and Grant Ressel (Missouri).

Semi-finalists will be voted on by all Division 1 Head Coaches and SIDs, along with national, regional and local football writers and others who will select the three finalists. These finalists will be honored at the Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Awards Banquet on Dec. 7 in West Palm Beach, Fla. The winner will be announced on the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show on Dec. 9.



Online Store