Skip to main content Skip to footer
Petty, Seastrunk Named Maxwell Award Semifinalists

Lache Seastrunk

Oct. 29, 2013

 PHILADELPHIA - Baylor junior quarterback Bryce Petty and junior running back Lache Seastrunk are two of 16 semifinalists for the Maxwell Award, the Maxwell Football Club announced on Tuesday.

Baylor is one of only three schools nationally to have two representatives on the list, joining Oregon State and Texas A&M. BU is the only school in the Big 12 to have a player named a semifinalist. The Bears have now had four semifinalists for the award in the last four years as quarterback Robert Griffin III was a semifinalist in both 2010 and 2011.

In 2013, Petty has produced FBS-leading numbers for passing efficiency (219.0) and passing yards per completion (20.11). He has amassed 2,453 yards through the air by completing 122 of 176 passes with 18 touchdowns. Petty's 350.4 passing yards per game and completion percentage of 69.3 lead the Big 12. The Midlothian, Texas, native also has 28 carries for 73 yards and six touchdowns on the ground. Petty has thrown for at least 300 yards and 2 touchdowns in all seven games this year.

This year, Seastrunk is off to a fast start as well. The Temple, Texas, product is fourth nationally by averaging 9.1 yards per carry. He has totaled 869 yards on 96 rushing attempts, while scoring 11 touchdowns. He ranks first in the Big 12 and ninth nationally with 124.1 yards per game on the ground. Seastrunk has rushed for over 100 yards in six of the first seven games of the season.

The offense that Petty and Seastrunk are a part of currently leads the country in scoring (63.9 ppg.) and total offense (718.4 ypg.), while ranking second in passing (417.3 ypg.) and seventh in rushing (301.3 ypg.). BU is also the Big 12 leader in all of those categories. 

As a team, Baylor is off to a 7-0 start to the season for the first time since 1980. The Bears have opened 4-0 in conference action for the first time since 1985.

This week, BU is ranked No. 5 in both the USA Today Coaches Poll and the AP Top 25. The Bears are up to No. 6 in the latest edition of the BCS standings released on Sunday.

The winner of the 77th Maxwell Award, given to the Collegiate Player of the Year, will be announced as part of the Home Depot College Football Awards Show on Dec. 12. Three finalists for the award will be announced on Nov. 25 and a second round of voting will take place at that time. Semifinalist voting for the award will begin on Wednesday and close on Nov. 24. Eligible voters include Maxwell Football Club members, NCAA Head Football Coaches, Sports Information Directors and selected national media.

Baylor is in the midst of its third and final off-week of the season, before returning to play Nov. 7. On that Thursday night, the Bears face 10th-ranked Oklahoma at 6:30 p.m. on FS1.

To purchase single-game tickets visit, the Baylor Athletics Ticket Office or call (254) 710-1000.

To stay current on all things Baylor Football, follow the team on Twitter: @BUFootball.



Online Store