Skip to main content Skip to footer
RG3 Named Today's Top 10 by NCAA

Nov. 1, 2012

WACO, Texas - Former Baylor quarterback and 2011 Heisman Trophy winner, Robert Griffin III, has been honored as one of 10 former student-athletes to receive the Today's Top 10 Award, announced by the NCAA Honors Committee on Thursday.

The NCAA Today's Top 10 Award recognizes student-athletes who completed their athletic eligibility during the 2011-12 academic year for their success on the fields and courts, in the classroom, and in the community. Award recipients will be recognized at the Honors Celebration on Jan. 18 during the NCAA Convention in Grapevine, Texas.

Griffin III lifted the Baylor football program to new heights and became an ambassador of the University during his four years in Waco. He was awarded the program's first Heisman Trophy and drafted second overall in the 2012 NFL Draft by the Washington Redskins. Griffin III also earned the 2011 Davey O'Brien and Manning Awards after leading Baylor to a 10-3 regular-season record, its first bowl win in 19 years and a No. 12 final national ranking. He was a 2011 consensus All-American, Big 12 Offensive Player of the Year and All-Big 12 First Team. During his 41-game career, Griffin III set or tied 54 school records. He led the nation last season in points responsibility (22.15), ranked second in passing efficiency (192.31) and total offense (384.00), was third in completion percentage (72.39), fourth in passing touchdowns (37) and sixth in passing yards (4,293). He is one of three players in FBS history with 10,000-plus passing yards (10,366) and 2,000-plus rushing yards (2,254). Griffin III was honored with a 2011-12 ESPY award for the nation's best male college athlete.

The Copperas Cove, Texas native also excelled in the classroom where he earned second-team 2011 Capital One Academic All-America honors. He was a two-time Academic All-District VI (2010 and 2011) and two-time Academic All-Big 12 First Team member (2010 and 2011). Griffin III was also named to the Big 12 Commissioner's Honor Roll eight times and was a three-time selection to the Dean's List. He obtained his undergraduate degree in political science from Baylor in December 2010, just three years after enrolling at the university.

In addition to his work on the field and in the classroom, Griffin III was selected 2011-12 Big 12 Male Sportsperson of the Year and was named to the 2011 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team for his service in the community.

The NCAA Honors Committee, who selects the honorees for the annual award, is composed of athletics administrators at member institutions and nationally distinguished citizens who are former student-athletes .

Previously, the award recognized eight student-athletes and was known as Today's Top VIII. The NCAA Honors Committee expanded the award to honor 10 student-athletes to recognize the increased number of student-athletes, sports and championship opportunities.

Nick Amuchastegui - Stanford - Wrestling - Mechanical Engineering
Miles Batty - BYU - Cross Country/Track - Neuroscience & Exercise Science
Ashley Brignac - University of Louisiana at Lafayette - Softball - Kinesiology
Micah David - Delta State - Football - Chemistry/Pre-Medicine
Robert Griffin III - Baylor - Football - Political Science
Stacey Hagensen - Pacific Lutheran - Softball - Math/Economics
Lindsay Lettow -Central Missouri - Track & Field - Psychology
Brooke Pancake - Alabama - Golf - Marketing
Liz Phillips - Washington University in St. Louis - Cross Country/Track - Biomedical Engineering
Wendy Trott - Georgia - Swimming & Diving - International Affairs



Online Store