Skip to main content Skip to footer
Baylor's Petty Named Davey O'Brien Award Semifinalist

Nov. 4, 2013

FORT WORTH, Texas - Baylor quarterback Bryce Pettyhas been named one of 16 semifinalists for the 2013 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award, the award's foundation announced Monday.

This marks the fourth consecutive season that Baylor's starting quarterback has been selected as a semifinalist for the award, and Baylor joins Oregon as the nation's only teams to make that claim. Robert Griffin III (2010 & 2011) and Nick Florence(2012) previously made the cut to 16 quarterbacks. RG3 became Baylor's first QB to win the Davey O'Brien Award when he was honored in 2011, the same year he won the Heisman Trophy.

Petty is the only Big 12 player among the semifinalists for the award that is presented annually to the nation's best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award.

A fourth-year junior from Midlothian, Texas, Petty leads the nation in passing efficiency (219.0) and yards per completion (20.11). He leads the Big 12 in passing yards per game (350.4), passing touchdowns (18), completion percentage (69.3), total offense per game (360.9), points responsible for per game (20.6). He's thrown for at least 300 yards and two TDs in all seven games, including a 430-yard performance at Kansas that was the seventh-best single-game passing yardage total in program history.

Semifinalists were chosen by the O'Brien National Selection Committee, with the fan vote accounting for 5 percent of the total vote. The committee was asked to consider quarterback skills, academics, character, leadership and sportsmanship.

Petty finished in third place in the first round of fan voting, garnering 15 percent of all votes with 19,393. He trailed only UCF's Blake Bortles (28,579) and Texas A&M's Johnny Manziel (22,859). It's the third straight season that Baylor's QB has finished in the top three in the first round of the fan vote, with RG3 finishing third in 2011 and Florence second a season ago.

The vote counts have been reset with the field narrowed to 16 semifinalists. Fans can now vote in the second round by visiting Three finalists for the award will be announced on Nov. 25, and the winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards airing Dec. 12, on ESPN. The 37th Annual Davey O'Brian Awards Dinner will be held on Feb. 17, in Fort Worth, Texas.

Baylor, which is ranked No. 5 in the AP and coaches' top 25 polls and No. 6 in the BCS standings, returns to action when it hosts No. 10 Oklahoma at 6:30 p.m. CT Thursday at Floyd Casey Stadium. The game will be televised nationally on FS1, and the Bears are expecting one of the largest crowds in program history. Fans are encouraged to join the team in wearing black at the game and to spread the word by using #EveryoneInBlack on social media.

2013 Davey O'Brien Award Semifinalists:
Blake Bortles, UCF
Tajh Boyd, Clemson
Teddy Bridgewater, Louisville
Derek Carr, Fresno State
Brett Hundley, UCLA
Jordan Lynch, Northern Illinois
Sean Mannion, Oregon State
Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M
Marcus Mariota, Oregon
A.J. McCarron, Alabama
Zach Mettenberger, LSU
Braxton Miller, Ohio State
Aaron Murray, Georgia
Bryce Petty, Baylor
Connor Shaw, South Carolina
Jameis Winston, Florida State



Online Store