Skip to main content Skip to footer
Nick Florence Named Academic All-District

Nov. 8, 2012

WACO, Texas - Baylor senior Nick Florence was named first-team quarterback on the Capital One Academic All-District VII football team, as announced by College Sports Information Directors of America Thursday.

Baylor has had at least one academic all-district honoree in every season since 2004, with eight different players earning 14 total honors. It also marks the third consecutive year, that Baylor has earned the District VII honor at the quarterback spot. Robert Griffin III was honored with the same distinction in 2010 and 2011.

Florence is enrolled in graduate school after receiving his degree in economics in December 2011. Florence is also a semifinalist for the Davey O'Brien Award and a finalist for Campbell Trophy; considered the `Academic Heisman'.

Florence leads the nation in both total offense (412.3 ypg) and in passing yards (377.4 ypg), and is ninth in passing efficiency (165.5). He currently ranks seventh in Baylor history in career passing yards (5,011 yds) and third in passing TDs (33). Through eight games, Florence ranks third on Baylor's single-season passing yards list (3,019), fifth in completions (199), third in total offense (3,298) and is tied for second in TD responsibility (30).

Starting in his first Big 12 game since his freshman season (2009), Florence had a career day with at West Virginia with a school-record 581 passing yards, and a career-best five TDs on 47 attempts. Florence has completed 19 passes of 40 or more yards this season (12 for TDs) - including eight of 50 or more, and has thrown for 300-plus yards in seven-of-eight games in 2012.

Baylor (4-4, 1-4 Big 12) returns to action with its final true road game of the season when it takes on No. 12 Oklahoma (6-2, 4-1 Big 12) at 2:30 p.m. CT, Saturday, at Gaylord Family-Oklahoma Memorial Stadium in Norman, Okla. The game will be nationally televised on FSN. Following the OU game, Baylor returns home to host No. 2 Kansas State, Nov. 19, on ESPN.

Baylor CoSIDA Academic All-District Honorees
Daniel Sepulveda, 2004 (2nd team)
Daniel Sepulveda, 2005
Shawn Bell, 2005
Daniel Sepulveda, 2006
Joe Pawelek, 2007
Joe Pawelek, 2008
Derek Epperson, 2009
Jason Lamb, 2009
Joe Pawelek, 2009
Derek Epperson, 2010
Terrance Ganaway, 2010
Robert Griffin III, 2010
Robert Griffin III, 2011
Nick Florence, 2012



Online Store