Skip to main content Skip to footer
RG3 Selected to Walter Camp Final 15

Nov. 17, 2010

NEW HAVEN, Conn. - Baylor sophomore quarterback Robert Griffin III has been selected as one of 15 "Players to Watch" for the 2010 Walter Camp Player of the Year award, the Walter Camp Football Foundation announced Wednesday.

RG3 is now listed on four national football award watch lists. He was named one of 16 semifinalists for the Davey O'Brien Award on Oct. 25, was tabbed as a semifinalist for the Maxwell Award on Nov. 8, and he's on the watch list for the Manning Award, which will be narrowed to 10 finalists Nov. 29.

The Walter Camp Player of the Year award is the fourth-oldest college football award in the nation. The 15-player watch list consists of nine quarterbacks, three running backs, one wide receiver and two defensive players. Griffin III is the only Big 12 quarterback among the 15 student-athletes on the list.

The field will be narrowed to five finalists on Dec. 1, and the winner will be presented live on Dec. 9 during the 6 p.m. EST edition of ESPN SportsCenter. The recipient will receive his trophy at the Foundation's annual national awards banquet on Jan. 15 at the Yale University Commons in New Haven.

Griffin III leads the nation in total offense (3,579 yards), leads the Big 12 and is tied for fifth nationally with 170 points responsible for and ranks third in the Big 12 and fifth nationally in passing yards (3,071).

A native of Copperas Cove, Texas, RG3 currently holds Baylor's career records for passing efficiency, passing touchdowns, completion percentage, touchdown-to-interception ratio, interception percentage, total offense and rushing touchdowns by a quarterback. He is on track to graduate with a political science degree in December, just three years after enrolling at Baylor after graduating high school a semester early.

2010 Walter Camp Player of the Year award "Players to Watch"
Justin Blackmon (Oklahoma State)
Da'Quan Bowers (Clemson)
Andy Dalton (TCU)
Nick Fairley (Auburn)
Robert Griffin III (Baylor)
Kendall Hunter (Oklahoma State)
LaMichael James (Oregon)
Colin Kaepernick (Nevada)
Andrew Luck (Stanford)
Ryan Mallett (Arkansas)
Kellen Moore (Boise State)
Cam Newton (Auburn)
Terrell Pryor (Ohio State)
Denard Robinson (Michigan)
Jordan Todman (Connecticut)



Online Store