Skip to main content Skip to footer
Football Places 10 on Academic All-Big 12

Jake Jackson has been named first-team academic all-Big 12 in three consecutive seasons.

Nov. 17, 2011

IRVING, Texas - Ten Baylor football student-athletes earned academic all-Big 12 honors, the conference office announced Thursday. The Bears had five selections on both the first and second teams.

Baylor has had at least 10 academic all-Big 12 honorees in every season since 2005, and the Bears have placed at least five on the first team in each of the last seven seasons.

Quarterback Robert Griffin III (junior; master's in communication), offensive lineman Jake Jackson (junior; MBA), tight end Jordan Najvar (sophomore; entrepreneurship), linebacker Matt Ritchey (redshirt freshman; pre-business) and fullback Erik Wolfe (sophomore; general studies) were named to the first team with GPAs of 3.20 or higher.

Wide receiver Thomas Draper (senior; health science studies), running back Terrance Ganaway (senior; MBA-hospital administration), offensive lineman Cameron Kaufhold (junior; speech communication), kicker Ben Parks (senior; health science studies) and linebacker Brody Trahan (sophomore; general studies) earned second-team honors with GPAs ranging from 3.00 to 3.19.

Jackson was named to the first team for the third straight season, while RG3 and Wolfe both earned their second consecutive first-team honors. Ganaway was honored for the second consecutive year after being named to the first team last season, and Kaufhold moved up to the first team after earning second-team honors in 2009. Parks was named to the second team for the third straight season, and Trahan earned his second consecutive second-team honor.

Nominated by each institution's director of student-athlete support services and its media relations or athletic communications offices, the 2011 football academic all-league squad included 87 first-team members and 48 on the second team.

To qualify, student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher either cumulative or the two previous semesters and must have participated in 60 percent of their team's scheduled contests. True freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.

No. 22 Baylor (6-3, 3-3 Big 12) hosts No. 5 Oklahoma (8-1, 5-1 Big 12) at 7 p.m. Saturday at Floyd Casey Stadium. The game will be televised live nationally on ABC and tickets can be purchased online at, by calling 254-710-1000 or at the Baylor Athletic Ticket Office at the Ferrell Center.

Robert Griffin III, first team (2010 first-team honoree)
Jake Jackson, first team (2009 & 2010 first-team honoree)
Jordan Najvar, first team
Matt Ritchey, first team
Erik Wolfe, first team (2010 first-team honoree)
Thomas Draper, second team
Terrance Ganaway, second team (2010 first-team honoree)
Cameron Kaufhold, second team (2009 second-team honoree)
Ben Parks, second team (2009 & 2010 second-team honoree)
Brody Trahan, second team (2010 second-team honoree)



Online Store